FIRST RESPONDERS in Postcards 4

  • Feb. 16, 2017, 11:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Lifeguard friends on and around the old OB tower. 1981? Photo from the “First Responders” show at the Automotive museum in Balboa Park.

We headed off to the Automotive museum yesterday afternoon for the opening of the “First Responders” show. G had been talking about pictures he recognized all week, and sure enough there was this one of the old tower before it was replaced. I can remember most of their names, amazingly…Lt. “Buster” is third from the left, and right in the middle is Katie holding the red flag. These were a bunch of kind hard working people who I loved for their caring.

Now I am off back to the store to price books. One wonderful lady donated almost a thousand, and they can’t be put out without prices.


  • Himself: Helping to eat chocolate.
  • Herself: LOL Eating chocolate. The GP Doc says I am good to go for 6 months.
  • Reading: An Amish mystery.
  • Gratitudes: For everything but the chocolate.

Last updated February 22, 2017


gattaca February 16, 2017

I hope the guys in the photo aged better than I have. :-D

pb reader February 16, 2017

Who is the author of the Amish books? Chocolate sounds good.

GypsyWynd February 16, 2017

Good news from the doc.
I'd be grateful for the chocolate, too!

Zipster February 16, 2017

What a great photo-wonder where they are now. I don't envy you having to price so very many books, but I'm sure you get to see a lot of interesting ones.

Hillbilly Princess February 16, 2017

NorthernSeeker February 16, 2017

How cool to see those photos of days gone by.

Marg February 17, 2017

A thousand books?? Wow! How on earth did she manage to get them there?

Deleted user February 17, 2017

My idea of Heaven : 1000 books but not having to price them :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.