Scheduling a Break in Postcards 4

  • Feb. 11, 2017, 10:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The day is chilly and grey here as it was that day in Paris. I feel unimaginative and sluggish knowing I will have two weeks of no journaling….for yes, I have a date for surgery. The 23rd. That’s good. Less pain finally fading to no pain at last.

Sluggish too as every day since Wednesday the Store has received Jo Beth’s belongings. I worked with her at Petco Park. I saw her every day I worked. I remember her smile. She took Tylenol for her blinding headaches, and they caused her liver to fail.

My doctor warned me of this. For those of us in pain, which death would you prefer. Liver failure from overuse of Tylenol or kidney failure from Aleve. I try very hard to take nothing now, but I find that about once every two weeks, enough is enough.


  • Himself: He took me to the new cookie place last night…
  • Herself: ….and they were wonderful.
  • Reading: Starting on “Notches.”
  • Gratitudes: Boy am I grateful.

GypsyWynd February 11, 2017

Ah, Paris........

Marg February 11, 2017

Gosh that's worrying. There was paracetamol in the tablets I was taking for years which always worried me but I was told it's only a danger if taken in large doses all at once rather than a drip effect over the years. Having said that, that info was imparted by Dr. Weirdo so perhaps I shouldn't be surprised if it's rubbish!

Good news that you have a date for surgery. The relief of pain is always to be celebrated :)

NorthernSeeker February 11, 2017

Two weeks without being able to type...yikes! Not to mention the other things you have to do to keep your life going. If your hands will be pain-free eventually it is a good investment. I switch back and forth between Tylenol, advil, and aspirin but I don't have to take painkillers every day.

Hillbilly Princess February 11, 2017

Deleted user February 11, 2017

Just concentrate on recovering ! We will miss you and wish you all the best !

gattaca February 12, 2017

Many types of pain are symptoms of inflammation. I've been drinking 'golden'milk' (I use almond milk and Stevia) for about 6 months, and overall joint pain has diminished quite a bit. It's an ancient Ayurvedic remedy (turmeric). There's quite a lot of research on it.
For you, the golden milk might help, post-op.

I still take tramadol for breakthrough pain - I can't take Advil and Tylenol does nothing at all for me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.