Not a great week in In the Kingdom of Suzu

  • Feb. 11, 2017, 9:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was so happy to lose the Chariot but very disappointed to find walking extremely difficult—my leg aches in a hurting way and I resorted to using a cane. I went to our massage therapist last night and she worked on my leg and it felt much better. I am trying not to use the cane and just put my hand on something to give extra steadiness but it is slow going. I can do the bicycle and went to the gym but do not want to overdue it. I am seeing the doctor Tuesday and will see what he has to say. When I had the right knee done a year and a half ago, I did not have this reaction. I am discouraged.

We had about 7 inches of snow Thursday and I hobbled in to work. My son had the day off and went sledding with his kids and fell and dislocated his arm! It is not broken but he tore the legiments and will be out of work for about 6 or 8 weeks—ouch----he is considered self-employed. His wife is a stay at home mom with a teaching degree and had just started subbing as only PrincessE is in school—LittleMan goes to preschool two days a week but if she can get more subbing jobs, my son can take care of their son.

My cousin messaged me that a mutual friend’s father passed away and my cousin was there when the father took his last breath. Shocked to hear that the person died as I did not know he had been sick. I will see my cousin tonight so she will let me know what happened.

Hope the weekend is better than this past week!


ConnieK February 11, 2017

Ouch! I hope you AND your son are feeling better soon. Sorry to hear of your loss. HUGS

Deleted user February 11, 2017

How difficult it must be to watch someone take their last breath before they die. Can you imagine? I think I would be deeply affected by such a thing and might even have nightmares. Unless of course, the person is at peace. Perhaps they would be grateful to have relief from their pain and suffering. I think it got to this point with my sister Kim. She died alone but had been moaning prior to death. On a better note, kind of, I'm sorry to learn that you are having difficulty with walking. I wonder what your doctor will say when you see him/her on Tuesday. Perhaps you will be given some good advice on how to live with this. Hang on to your cane for sure. It might be best for you to use it even though it sounds as if you would rather not. I'm sorry that your son was injured while sledding with the kids. I hope your daughter-in-law will be able to obtain more subbing jobs. You take good care now. Thank you for writing us and giving us an update with how you are doing. (((Hugs)))

QueenSuzu Deleted user ⋅ February 11, 2017

Aw thanks WR, I did some other exercises today and I am doing more walking without the cane but it is slow going and I don't want to overdo it. The therapist said NOT to use the cane but I am going to when I go out, especially today as we had had snow.

I watched my aunt dying but left before she took her final breaths as it was horrible and the nurse said that sometimes people hold on until you go and sure enough after we left, she did indeed pass a very short time later. I do not want anyone watching me die, I don't want them to remember me that way. I am sorry that Kim died alone ((hugs)).

Found out that my son will probably be able to get some disability, not very much, but anything is better than nothing, right?

Hope you have a good weekend and thank you for your encouraging words.

Deleted user February 11, 2017

Glad your son can get some disability. Each surgery is different so please do not be discouraged if this one is healing more slowly than the first one did.

Chocolatechip February 12, 2017

Hi. My right knee used to give me a lot of trouble, but it would seem that since I have lost a good amount of weight, my mobility is better, stiffness has eased up, as well as pain. I guess there must not be as much pressure on that joint. I hope that you will one day be able to walk w/o your cane. My orthopedist told me not to come back unless I am in need of a knee replacement. Walking seems to do me more harm than good. Long distance walking, that is. I walk around the apartment building with ease.

🌻StillJustMe🌸 February 15, 2017

I, too, hope you and your son can get some relief. And, yes, do be careful out in the snow. You sure dont need a set back from falling!

Working in nursing, ive held many hands while that last breathe was taken. And it can be very hard to watch or it can be a very peaceful experience.

Hope you have a good rest of the week.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.