Sore, sore, sore, dammit! in A New Beginning

  • Feb. 4, 2017, 3:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I sure am glad I moved up the date of my spinal injection from March 3rd to February 20th. Joe seems to worry about me getting too many of them or something, but Dr. Sutherland said I can get four a year, which comes out to every three months doesn’t it?? So February 20th makes it a bit over three months. I just don’t think anyone is going to give me a “tough girl” award for struggling along with this pain weeks longer than I need to. I have been having to take tylenol more frequently and use Biofreeze more frequently and any walking I do after I get home from work is STILL done with a limp because my leg hurts, SO. I am really looking forward to the 20th! And I don’t even have to take a sick day, because we have that day off anyway!
Yesterday was exhausting at work, even though I was on cash register! Normally that is sooooo easy, but yesterday was not. We had chicken tenders and there are so many different condiments the kids can have with those. And we cashiers have to give out the condiment packets, so with almost every kid I’m scrambling around scooping up my handful of whatever weird-ass combination they’ve asked for. “Can I have a barbecue sauce, a hot sauce and a mayo?” “Can I please have a ranch and two barbecue sauce??” “Can I have a honey mustard and two hot sauce??”
And then, it was Friday AND PAYDAY, so a lot of kids had money and a lot of kids were buying A LOT OF EXTRA STUFF. Some kids had so many things piled on their trays, it was hard to even see what-all they had! Double chicken tenders, two rolls, two bags of chips, four cookies, an ice cream, and a bottle of water?! And he’s giving you a twenty and wants his change back????? All the while there are two kids on the other side of you asking for condiments or napkins, the kid behind Mr. Twenty Dollar Bill requesting to know how much money she has in her account, and of course it’s so LOUD on the lunch line that you can barely hear yourself think!
But I rarely fuss at any of the kids. That is NOT what I work there to do. I might have 150 kids in my lunch line, but each kid gets only one tray of lunch, so of course s/he wants to get the things s/he wants! And the loudness? Well, it is their lunch time. They have a right to talk and laugh and have fun. A group of adults talking and laughing would be loud also.
Suffice to say, though, I WAS SURE GLAD WHEN THE DAY WAS DONE!!
And I went to sit down in the breakroom, and of course when I got up after about ten minutes to go home, that is when the soreness set in!
Oy. I wanted nothing more, when I got home, than to go to bed!! I never go to bed when I get home, but that is how darn tired I was.
But it was payday, and our plan was to go grocery shopping up at Dover AFB once Joe got home. And he gets home about 45 minutes after I do.
We didn’t really “HAVE” to go shopping yesterday afternoon, but we had to go SOMETIME! If it wasn’t yesterday it woulda had to be today, and we have other stuff we need to do today....one thing of which is to buy a new mattress pad for our bed! So, we went grocery shopping.
Joe brought all the groceries in, of course, and helped sift through everything to find the cold stuff to put away. When that was done, I WENT TO BED. At 6:30! And I stayed there! Oh, that bed just felt so good after that hard day! I slept ‘til 2:30, and now I’m up. After I finish this, though, I’m going back to bed. It’s the weekend! We don’t have the alarm set! Whooooopie!!


thesunnyabyss February 04, 2017

chronic pain sucks, I wish it on no one,

I hope you have a restful and relaxing and quiet weekend, hopefully it will settle the pain down a bit for you,

we have Feb. 20 off here too, Family Day,

have a great weekend!!!

woman in the moon February 04, 2017

So glad to have found you again. Thank you for the Chistmas card. So sweet to be remembered.
I like the way you write about your job. Have you ever written about any changes made due to Michelle Obama's ideas to help make lunches better? I remember you writing about dealing with fresh fruit and vegetables. Do you think any of that helped? How did the kids react? Was it just more work for the staff? Anyway I guess I could just read back. I find school lunch interesting. I would ask my kids what they had for lunch almost every day. They would roll their eyes and say they didn't remember or otherwise not tell me. Once I asked one of their friends and he proceeded to tell me in detail what lunch had been. That was Dale. Dale was (and is) a good kid.

Here I am again! woman in the moon ⋅ February 04, 2017

Hi Mary! I only recently started writing here again, so you haven't missed much! I will write about those things! :o)

woman in the moon February 04, 2017

And, I'm sorry about your pains. Bring on the shot. Feb. 20 two weeks from yesterday.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.