Anniversary in Book Title.

  • Feb. 1, 2017, 11:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wrote this one year ago, today. Incredibly super reliable bipolar cycle. Organic clockwork at its finest. (Slightly edited to reflect minor personal growth.)

Fool me twice,
Who gets shame?
We take turns
Pass the blame-
Like the torch

The flame
Still hurt
I got burnt.
Flesh suit
scorched.

The kids smell
Like stale smoke
Huff & puff &
Big bad joke.

Suffocating
Dogs on leads
Muscles bulged
Against the leash
Pleading eyes
On dirty faces
Recognizing my
Mood changes

Love
Can’t change
And will not
Save us

Hardly even a
Rearrangement
Of my recent
Disengagement

Sorry I slipped
& used a knife
I took the goods
Left in your life
Your guts, spine
Nerves & looks
Big laugh jokes
& thickest books
Charismatic
Force of habit
The velvet lining
Of your casket

Always a sucker
Then, deflowered
Traffick’s loud here
Profit powered
Winter chill on
Mattress springs
Summer sweat on
Fallen dreams

I roll my eyes
Into my head
Hold my breath
Pretend I’m dead

I’ll never be queen
I envy your things
Matching dishes
& napkin rings
Whitened teeth &
Steady heart rate
Pleasant dreams &
Simple soulmate


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.