Have You Hugged a Republican Today? in Distress

  • Jan. 30, 2017, 11:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s working. Reports from within the White House that are leaking out, paint a picture of a man who is tearing the dead squirrel off his head. He ignores his advisors. His staff members are setting up rogue twitter accounts talking about his tantrums and egomaniacal rants. He’s finding out that he can’t just sign an Executive Order and make what he wants happen. Best of all, he’s already starting to face some Republican dissent.

This is really important. The Democrats don’t have enough votes to accomplish anything on their own. So, if we want to stop Trump from his idiocy, we need support from the Right.

Enter John McCain. Way back in the day, when I still leaned to the right myself, I was a big supporter of John McCain. Back then, he was a centrist-a Republican who wasn’t afraid to cross the aisle for the right thing. He was a man of integrity and no one could ever question his love of America.

He ran in the primary against George W. Bush when Billy Clinton was a lame duck and he lost. I think that was the end of the John McCain I knew and respected. The John McCain you probably know is the crotchety old man who is a far-right conservative nutcase. The guy who bent over for the Tea Party and ran as a “Maverick” with some batshit crazy Alaskan, Tina Fey wannabe against Obama in 2008.

He lost. He became even more bitter. He became even more crotchety. He got even older. I’d pretty much written him off. He sold out because he wanted to be the president so badly. But a man like that, he can’t sell out–he faced torture in a POW camp and came away so instead of being a sell out, he had to convince himself that he believed what he was preaching. And he’s been spewing hard right rhetoric ever since.

I don’t know if was Trumpy the Clown making fun of him for “getting caught” that pissed him off, or if in his senility he’s starting to come back to his true self, or if he thinks someone is going to elect a 114 year old man president next term; but John McCain is fighting his own party.

He’s called the ban on immigration from Muslim-majority countries to be a recruiting boon for ISIS radicals.

He’s threatened to codify Russian economic sanctions into law to prevent Trump from being able to lift them.

He called Trumpy’s decision to withdraw from the Trans-Pacific Partnership a “serious mistake.”

He’s called the idea of levying a 20% tariff on imports from Mexico to pay for a border wall to be “insane.”

A victim of torture in a POW camp himself, he’s also made it clear that he will vehemently fight any effort to reinstate waterboarding or any other form of torture on terror suspects.

He’s opposed to Trump’s appointment for budget director.

Marco Rubio and Lindsey Graham are other prominent Republicans (google Republicans against Trump to find a full list) who are speaking out against Trumpy the Clown.

Listen: It’s really important that we make a big deal of this. If you think the attitude of the country is lost on Republicans, you’re wrong. But they are painted in a corner. If we can show them some love and make them think that doing the right thing is a path to reelection and saving their own political careers, instead of going down with a sinking Trumptanic, we can get more of them.

We need them. Good-dog them. Talk them up. Call them “real Americans.” Praise them for putting America before politics. When they slip over to our side, we have to show them some love. We have to make it attractive to their colleagues to do the same.

The Republicans have to look at things. We have mid-term elections in 2018 and they could face a wipeout if the tone and tenor of the country stays the same or gets worse. Let them know that standing up to Trump earns your support. You don’t have to promise your vote. Just promise your support and your consideration. But we need to lionize these guys. Pave the way for more.

And keep after Trumpy the Clown. He reads about the dissent and it drives him crazy. A man like this cannot work within the framework of a government. He’s going to try to pull and end run and isolate himself and force his way and our government WILL fight back. Our justices on the Supreme Court, who have lifelong job security no matter what Trumpy the Clown says are not going to bow down and kiss his ring. They are a bunch of old fuckers who are going to tell him to go fuck himself if he challenges them (he already had the Judicial Branch of the government removed from the president’s website–it’s back now, after backlash and talk of a test-coup).

Your tweets. Your Facebook posts, likes, shares, all of your social media pressure is getting to him. It’s why I keep posting on twitter to #TrumpyTheClown. It’s why it’s important to retain or share the posts of celebrities and news publications that go viral because he looks at those numbers. The number of retweets and shares is important to him.

He’s seething because a judge imposed a stay on his Muslim-ban. He’s already cracking.

So. Keep the pressure on #TrumpyTheClown and for goodness sake, hug a Republican any time you find one standing up to President Pumpkin Lice Far-Tay.

Oh! And support Starbucks and Kal Penn!

Peace out mah ninjas!


Deleted user January 30, 2017

Please add me as a friend. Your posts here are great.

hoops Deleted user ⋅ January 31, 2017

Done. Thank you.

Deleted user January 31, 2017

I'm waiting to see a Democrat who can see reality.

Mercurial Muse January 31, 2017

This is a very good point.

Deleted user January 31, 2017

Ah Marco Rubio. I really wanted to see him do better, I had high hopes for him. I can only speak for myself as a Republican, but we don't all stick to our party or what they stand for. Some of us realize life is not all "red" or "blue". It amazed me that Trump could make such a statement against POW's and yet Republicans would still fawn over him. Like, really?! How!

invisible ink January 31, 2017

Well written although I worry you are watching on mainstream left media. need to watch both sides to find the middle grounds to even out the distortionists on both ends of the political spectrums.
Hoops the day I follow "celebrities" to guide me.... gadzilliionaires living in their gated castles is the day I start supporting the reptilian party for governmental leadership

hoops invisible ink ⋅ January 31, 2017

I'm not sure which of your points is more ignorant. Your absolute foolishness in thinking I operate on biased info without fact checking; or your complete inability to comprehend the reasoning behind my support of celebrity anti-Trump tweets. Are you being deliberately obtuse or are you just skimming before commenting like you know what the fuck you're talking about?

invisible ink hoops ⋅ January 31, 2017

I read word for word and many parts reread. I am not being obtuse and I respect your writing as many previous comments should show you. I know very much what I talk of and you shouldn't be angry about how I doubt some of the people when they "leak" information. This has been one of the most heart wrenching political swing I have seen people who once admired say childish and unhelpful statements publically. Maybe my disappointment in what I have seen in media has colored my view and I speak from disheartenment. I certainly didn't wish to offend you and someone who may look at others with doubt does not mean they do not know "what the fuck they are talking about" when we are only relying on spoken words from people with political leanings.

hoops invisible ink ⋅ January 31, 2017

I can't think of a greater insult than to suggest I haven't fully & properly educated myself about a topic I'm writing about. In the world of alternative facts, you're essentially lumping me in with those whom I despise or suggest (after reading as much of me as you have) that I'm easily influenced by biased media.

invisible ink hoops ⋅ January 31, 2017

You have my apologies for making you feel as such Hoops. I ADMIRE your writing, your wit, bawdiness and I was trying verbalize my disenchantment with the political and social milieu we all suffered through. I think what I tried to convey is how do we determine who truly is unbiased anymore. As a matter of fact I would be extremely interested in your opinion of who you believe in still as a reliable source.... I mean it, who do you hold some faith in... I'd like the opportunity to review something that someone I trust speaks from the heart AND mind.

hoops invisible ink ⋅ January 31, 2017

I'll just get my panties out of a bunch then. For the record, I never trust a single source.

invisible ink hoops ⋅ January 31, 2017

besides your twitter account of course...

Pretend Mulling invisible ink ⋅ January 31, 2017

You assume that we can defeat Pumpkinhead through normal channels. We can't, and we can't because Trump is NOT normal. If we are going to defeat him, it will be via social media, which he cares about. Fight fire with fire.

invisible ink Pretend Mulling ⋅ January 31, 2017

I assume no such thing. Let me be clear I believe any task ahead regarding the desire to unseat any sitting president is enormous. I also wonder about "what he cares about" theory with anything. Oh, he loves his social media but that may be what he cares about... "his" social media. And my above "besides your twitter..." was a nod of recognition of hoops social media being there as a reliable source..

MrsJess January 31, 2017

This gives me hope. Thank you.

absolut lilith February 01, 2017

Yeah, we can resist and drive Cheeto Pedo insane, but when local and state elected officials like Richard Burr openly admit they're supporting Trump's actions and cabinet picks precisely because their constituents ask them NOT to, it's disheartening.

I just wish I were rich enough to run against whatever Koch-sponsored Rethuglican that will be vying for Burr's seat in 6 years, or Tillis himself depending on where we move by then.

BlueEyes418 February 02, 2017

There's nothing more satisfying to me than watching President Trump lose his mind over social media. Keep throwing everything in his face - he obviously can't handle it. And quite honestly, I had a hunch that prominent members of the Republican Party were going to turn against President Trump. I honestly thought there would be more by now, but then I remembered that the Republican party is probably concerned about "saving face" and wanted to stand behind President Trump and hope for the best, even though surely most of them - if not all of them - are well aware that they are witnessing a political sh!t-show of horrifying proportions. It was the buffoons that somehow cheated, lied and bought their way into the Presidental election that caused this country to split wide open. How interesting it would be to see one of those buffoons do so poorly as President that he actually causes the Republicans and Democrats to bring this country back together again just to fight our Presidents tyrannical insanity.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.