MORNING SMILES in Postcards 4

  • Jan. 30, 2017, 4:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


At the San Diego River.

Every day lately, I have tried to start my day with a quiet and calm picture. Something near home that’s fresh and brings a smile to my soul. If I didn’t make this effort, I’d be madder than a hatter at the American political process all day.

George’s finches brighten the office too. Other birds that can’t fit on the finch feeder hover around it. Down in the driveway I found two crows and a mourning dove yesterday pecking at dropped seeds. They wait on the edge of the balcony. They hover on the bare tree branches. They bring smiles to our faces.


  • Himself: Still enjoying the fruits of his birthday. Tonight is Phil’s BBQ. Yes, we have gained enough weight to make pants tight.
  • Herself: Tomorrow morning a visit to the ENT. We will see if he ok’s that I get back into the very cold air first thing in the mornings. Today the usual Monday morning things….laundry, grocery, receipts, and a start on the taxes.
  • Reading: Stabenow. Just what I need right now.
  • Gratitudes: For the beauty and comfort around me.

Zipster January 30, 2017

I too try to start with some sense of calm but everyday I am gob-smacked yet again by that Obscenity in the White House. I fear what each new day will bring.

MageB Zipster ⋅ January 30, 2017

I feel just like you do. I sometimes wonder how those people who voted for him are feeling now.

Hillbilly Princess January 30, 2017

NorthernSeeker January 31, 2017

Awww...ducks and egrets in the marsh area by the river. The river must be slow at this time of the year.We don't get marshland at the sides of our rivers, just gravel and boulders because the water roars past in freshet (or even after a long, rainy period).

Have you had squirrels after your feeder? Cats will be showing up to get the birds that feed on the ground. I love looking at bird feeders. Take some photos!

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 31, 2017

There's a few on Georges page.

Deleted user January 31, 2017

I can't feed the birds . My trashy neighbors won't keep their cats in and they think my bird feeder is a buffet :-( I miss watching them .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.