Touchy touchy! in Stuff

  • Jan. 26, 2017, 4:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Man, that last entry touched a nerve with some people. All I was doing was whinging about people whinging cos it’s all people seem to do these days, and then I get whinging comments on top of that lol!

Look, I write to get my thoughts down. I get that not everyone will agree with everything I have on my mind, but patronising me isn’t going to do anyone any favours nor solve any conflict. I’m not an American so I don’t have a clue about the ins and outs of American politics. Maybe Trump is right about the media being completely out to get him. Maybe he’s a whinger too.
I was talking about all the protests here in Australia to do with Australia Day/Invasion Day/Whatever-the-fuck-doesnt-offend-you-Day. It happens every year but this year seemed to be especially full-on. Turning the TV on this morning I see people rioting and clashing with police in the streets.
I’m all about celebrating the day for what it is -How proud I am to be Australian. A QLD (my state) stem cell research scientist was awarded the Australian Of The Year Award, which was nice to see. Yeah the history sucks and I like a lot of the other comments I read. I agree with the note along the lines of “I wasn’t around when all this went down, but I’m sure as hell made to feel like I was.” - right, on!

Fuck me. It’s only my view. I meant nothing personal by it. Don’t like what I write, it’s not hard to turn your eyes to the right or left or hit the little ‘x’ in the top corner of your browser’s.

I only aim to provide a smile to someone every single day in one way or another but yesterday I felt like I got stampeded by all those protesters 😅


Deleted user January 26, 2017

I just say we pull our dicks out and see who's is bigger, lol.

crunchie January 26, 2017

I don't really have an opinion as I'm not an indigenous Australian but don't think I'd mind either way if the day was changed as long as it stays in summer. May 8 is a way too cold time of the year to be celebrating all things that make us Australian though :) I have a feeling once Australia becomes a republic (whenever that will be) the day will change to celebrate this.

KissOfLife! crunchie ⋅ January 27, 2017

Yeah maybe! The republic debate is an entirely other kettle of fish lol.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.