A MARCH FOR ALL in Postcards 4

  • Jan. 22, 2017, 1:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


The vanguard of the Women’s March nearing the main door of the Art Deco, WPA, County Administration building against the background of three cruise ships. Photo: G.


The famous motto above the door says, “The noblest Motive is the Public Good.” Virgil. Photo: G.

I was deeply moved by the whole experience of the Women’s March yesterday. How 55,000 marchers fit onto the lawn in front of the deco Administration Building, I didn’t know. They did, and I was amazed.

I was amazed by the passion and caring of the men and women of all ages.

They walked if they could. Many waited at the finish line with their walkers or wheel chairs. Many my age had marched before. We had lunch, water, umbrellas, and some even had rain poncho’s. I remember being unable to get a credit card in my own name, unable to get birth control, and unable to do many things the men could do. This March, many men took part also.

Since yesterday, I have been posting my and other’s photos on Facebook. Sharing this passion. Sharing our reactions. The New York Times has done a Wonderful job compiling compelling photos of Marchers all over the world, and I am sharing them with you on this link.

New York Times March Photos


Deleted user January 22, 2017

Thanks! The march was very impressive to me except that woman in Washington who said she had been thinking about burning down The White House. That disgusted me .

cricket_factor January 22, 2017

Thank you for being there!

NorthernSeeker January 22, 2017

Yay San Diego!! It must have been wonderful to be there.

Zipster January 22, 2017

It made me feel hopeful.

Marg January 23, 2017

Thank you for sharing this. I no longer watch or listen to the news as I was finding it too distressing (I don't mean recently - I made this decision years ago) so I find out about things through diaries or just people talking. It's amazing how much filters through even if you make no direct attempt to find out what's going on in the world!

Deleted user January 23, 2017

It was Madonna , who said that about blowing upThe White House . She doesn't even live in this country anymore . Sheesh !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.