More Gratitude in Gratitude Journal

  • Jan. 24, 2014, 10:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm thankful for the hard freeze we had last night. I might grumble about the bite of the cold underneath my breath as I walk out to the mailbox to fetch the mail, but this cold weather does have it's benefits. It kills off the bugs, reduces all kinds of inflammation (which is helpful with my foot problems), and in some studies, have helped lab mice to live up to 20% longer lives.

The cold makes kale taste sweeter, helps prevent erosion...there's jut all kinds of benefits to the cold.

The cold makes me appreciate the summer heat, and by the end of winter, I'm longing for a warm breeze to tickle my skin and tousle my unmanageable curly tendrils around my head. It allows me just enough time to plan my garden and plan out not only what kind of sexy 'maters I want to blush red in the sunshine, but also the other veggies I've never tried before.

Thank you, winter. Thank you for the shorter, dark days that allow me to respect all the seasons. Thank you for the reminder of how to make my life to reflect one of coming in from the cold: warm, inviting of snuggles, indulgence of comforting foods, and the feel of the winding layers of a homemade scarf around your neck.


read.my.lips January 25, 2014

I need to make myself a scarf. I have yet to make anything for me!

Getting Up January 25, 2014

This entry made me smile - GREAT photos!

Soul Karma Getting Up ⋅ January 25, 2014

Thanks, but I just pulled them from the 'net for artistic purposes. I wish I could lay claim to them, because they are beautiful! LOL! I did take some from the "Snowpocalypse" from about two years ago.. I should have shared those!

SweetMelissa January 26, 2014

the best thing about the cold is getting cozy as you described.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.