More on the Internet Fight - 8/14/2007 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 16, 2013, 7:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wasn't going to elaborate on the picking internet fights thing, because I didn't want to be one of those people who uses the internet to write about things that happen on the internet. But I'm more upset than I'd like to be, so I'm going to anyway.

The internet fight started when I randomly came across an entry entitled "GUESS WHAT???????????" The body of the entry was "FUCK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!" That was it. I tried to go back an entry or two, to maybe get some context, because I figured there had to be context, but all the previous entries were either deleted or favorites only. Then I got really annoyed, because why the fuck would you publish that? Isn't the point of having an online diary instead of a regular diary to write something that someone might want to read? What kind of idiot just spews shit out onto the internet without giving it any meaning or context? And more importantly, why are there so damn many of these idiots, and why do I have to sift through their entries to find anything worthwhile?

So I said something snarky about the wonders of the information superhighway in an unsigned note.

Then later, because I had nothing better to do, I checked back to see if this person had written anything else since the mysterious "FUCK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" This was a bad idea. There was a new entry was about stupid fucking unsigned noters and how they should leave people the fuck alone. Then I got more annoyed. So I left a signed note about how I wasn't trying to be a bitch, I am just of the opinion that if you're going to publish something, it should have some sort of meaning, and that you can't just spew shit out onto the internet.

Then I was attacked by the diarist herself and other noters, who all said that people can write whatever the hell they want in their diaries, and as long as I'm not paying for it I have no right to complain about it. Then I realized that they were right. And that I was wrong.

Then I got really annoyed.

I guess it's true that there is a lot of useless shit on the internet and that this is probably a bad thing. The problem with me getting upset about it is that I am living in a glass house. This diary is not literary gold. I am not even writing primarily to please an audience. I more or less just say whatever the hell I want. So even if I don't use fifteen punctuation marks after every sentence or have a bunch of glittery banners under all of my entries, I am still guilty of spewing shit onto the internet. I try not to think about this too much, because I am very invested in this blog, but sometimes I think that the whole concept of blogging is just idiotic. Because everyone writes primarily for themselves, but they expect other people to pay attention to them anyway. We are all spewing shit onto the internet and expecting people to like it.

Or at least I am.

Besides the fact that I was wrong, it was also a bad idea to pick this internet fight because I am too uptight and thin-skinned not to be upset by internet fights, and because it violates my "just leave people alone and don't be a jerk" policy, which I fail to follow relatively often.

So yeah, I don't feel so good. I apologize, general internet population. I think.

That is all.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.