Prosebox "Premium" in Chunky giblets

  • Jan. 13, 2017, 7:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Which translates to “if you can;t afford to write here, well, we’ll let you in but don’t expect much”.

I’m poor. I don’t even have a bank account. When you start offering a paid service in addition to the free one, your impetus is to cater for the paying crowd as a priority.

Well, so much for Prosebox. Meet the new diary service, same as the old diary service.

EDIT!

simple mind replied in the comments, and it was somewhat reassuring. I can stop hyperventilating now!


Last updated January 17, 2017


synapse January 13, 2017

It strikes me as more of a patron service than a premium service.

simple mind January 13, 2017

When you start offering a paid service in addition to the free one, your impetus is to cater for the paying crowd as a priority.

While I agree that this is generally true, I don't agree that it does or should lead down the path that Open Diary did. I don't want the free version of the site to become subpar and a chore to use. I want to grow the site, and you don't grow a site by introducing new people to something that is like an old cart with three wheels. "But hey, if you pay, we'll throw in a fourth wheel so it's actually usable!" Terrible way to grow a business. I see the free site as a gateway drug for those who can and wish to pay for some bells and whistles. It should be a good, solid experience with all the essentials (basically what the free site is now).

And those who can't or don't want a paid account should still enjoy Prosebox as much as they do now. I don't plan on downgrading anything. For what it's worth.

Johnny Carcinogen simple mind ⋅ January 17, 2017

Well, that's actually reassuring. Thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.