I'm a Coward, Part I - 7/2/2007 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 17, 2013, 10:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm scared. I have to call her, soon, but I don't know how I'm going to do that. And I still, still, still don't know what I'm going to say.

I found this on another diary the other day,

[video no longer exists]

so I sent it to Julian. Because he likes Star Wars? There, there is a little expression of my love. Happy Emma? Happy deviant6? No, I know it doesn't count.

He replied as follows: "Haha! British accents make everything funnier!"

Another story: Yesterday some French kids came into the Bagel Store and ordered a sandwich awkwardly. I could tell they were French because they called the lettuce "salad" and were dressed all trendy and European. So I spoke French to them, and they seemed pleasantly surprised, and it was way too exciting for me. I beamed for like an hour after they left and probably made people's sandwiches incorrectly because I was still really excited and not paying that much attention.

A few hours later, some more kids came in and ordered a sandwich awkwardly. They were about the same age and were also dressed like trendy Europeans. So after I made their awkward sandwiches, I said, "Est-ce que vous Ítes ici avec votre lycÈe? Parce qu'il y avait beaucoup de franÁais ici ce matin aussi."

They looked at each other.

"Oh vous n'Ítes... You're not... French?"

"Uh... No, I am from Mexico and he is from uh, Lebanon. Why, are you French or somesing?"

"No it's just... There were kids in here earlier who were French and I thought maybe it was like a... I..." They obviously didn't understand. "Never mind." I rung them up. Poorly. Bright red. Ugh. I am now a funny story about what happened to someone in a foreign country.

It turns out that the prep school is having summer classes, so there are all kinds of assorted teenage foreigners all over downtown. They are not all French. Well, at least one of my coworkers was really impressed. She also thinks it's cool that I'm a musician. She is really really friendly. I hate that I can't introduce any bagel store characters. They're interesting people, but it wouldn't be worth it because they change so often. At this point, the only person who has worked there longer than me, including the managers, is Lyra. And I myself am quitting in a few weeks.

I am procrastinating. I have to call Molly. But I am so scared.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.