Awkward Phone Conversation #472 - 7/1/2007 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 16, 2013, 8:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, Emma called.

It was a pretty bizarre phone call, considering that the last time she called me was several months ago to tell me that I'd been a disappointment to her as a friend.

Here's how it went:

Me: Hello?

Her: Hi.

Me: Hi.

Her: Hi, it's Emma.

Me: Yeah, I know.

Her: Yeah, hi. So... I was calling to ask... I know this is really none of my business, but do you still like Julian?

Me: I, uh... Well - I - Yes, why do you ask?

Her: I think you should call him up and tell him.

Me: What?

Her: DO IT!

Me: No.

Her: Come on, you really should.

Me: First of all: I already tried that.

Her: You should try it again, maybe he's changed his mind.

Me: Second of all: Have you met the guy?

Her: Yes...

Me: Third of all: I'm going to college, and he's going to a different college, so none of this really matters anyway.

Her: Well, I still think you should do it. My dad thinks so too.

Me: Well, Uh... Although I value your dad's opinion, I don't think... I mean, he's made it pretty clear that he's not interested, and I'm on relatively good terms with him, and he freaked out that other time, I don't want to freak him out again.

Her: Well, I also called to tell you that I have a boyfriend. You can talk to him. Aidan, this is Liam.

(I heard the phone being passed off.)

Liam: Hi, I'm the trophy boyfriend.

(Based on his voice, I imagined him as one of those vaguely attractive, shy, arrogant guys who go around wearing a shirts with intellectual inside jokes on them.)

Me: Hi. I feel like I've heard of you.

Him: Maybe.

Me: Have I met you?

Him: I don't know.

Me: Oh. Well, nice to meet you?

Him: I'll give you back to Emma now.

Me: Okay.

(phone pass-off)

Her: See, I did it, and it worked for me.

Me: Did you do it... Twice?

Her: No.

Me: The second time over a year later?

Her: No, but you should still do it.

Me: No.

Her: Alright, fine. Bye.

Me: I'll - I'll talk to you later?

Her: Alright bye.

After she hung up, I stood there staring at the phone for a few seconds and then shrugged and went back to doing whatever I had been doing.

Tomorrow is the day that I may or may not get my friends back. It is the day that I am supposed to call Molly because it is the day she is getting back from California. I should probably think about it a little bit more than I have. I should probably try to figure out where I stand on this issue. At least a little bit. So that I will have at least something to say. I have nothing to say right now. Even if she just said, "Do you want to come over?" I wouldn't know what to say to that. Ann Whatsherface says that it's okay not to know what I'm going to say. I think I disagree though. I think that the expression of emotions is too important and too difficult to be spontaneous. That's why I like writing so much better than I like talking.

We'll see.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.