Shrugging things off in Adventures of New baby and family

  • Jan. 8, 2017, 9:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Its been a few days after my appointment and somethings stick in my mind and others I shrugged off so much like what I went through.

To see my little snuggler now you would never know what he went through. To see him in the hospital that day. Small with little clubbed feet. You would think how unlucky he was.

To tell his story to go to this doctor almost a year after and to still tell me I was high risk of the high risk pregnancies and still call him miracle baby. I have to step back and take it in and realize what a miracle it was. I even shrugged off his comment that I was high risk of the high risk pregnancies. I couldn’t have been, I don’t have any chronic conditions like diabetes, high blood pressure etc.... no STD’s, drug use stuff like that. I did slow down but I didn’t stop doing things. Other than my age....41. That I know starts entering me into the higher risk category and that alone. To tell the tale either people don’t understand or the ones that do don’t believe it. Even I have to step back and realize what went on as like his comment to me I shrugged it off.

After an amniocentesis I pPROMed (preterm premature rupture of the membrane) essentially my waterbroke. When they first found out they thought it would seal back up within days..... it did NOT. I leaked more and more. Fortunately your body can make fluid and it did but I still leaked.
So at 15 weeks amnio and pPROMed. 3 major things can happen… I leak till there’s no more fluid -baby dies or I get an infection and again baby doesn’t make it or since its ruptures I go spontaneously into labor and at prior to 24 weeks- zero chance baby makes it......statistically pulling this part off till making it to 24 weeks… 5% chance if that of baby surviving …mind you I’m old.
9 weeks go by.......baby is surviving.....thriving??? not so much. Intrauterine Growth Restriction, possible clubbed feet and oh yeah still dealing with the above threats although now we are talking micro-preemie NICU instead of instant death. Still the odds keep going down that I could or would make it till the end under 1% as the longer I’m like this the more likely something will happen.

Waited and waited .......still little guy was rockin and rolling in the womb.

Another 9 weeks go by …now rockin it at 33 week, he would still be a preemie but not a micro preemie and he was still small for gestational age.
But as well as he’s doing, fluid is going up to normal levels, no infections etc… it turns to a me problem.

Oh the irony.......

So as if weekly ultrasounds, blood tests and visits to see the doctor weren’t enough they schedule me for a fetal MRI....
or as I was calling it at this point- the Super deluxe pregnancy package.
( it did include the non-optional but I forced it to be optional hospital bedrest)
The MRI was to see if I had placental accreta- placenta growing into the wall of the uterus.(can cause mother to bleed to death if bad)

After a bout with the stomach flu (why not throw THAT in there for good measure)and missing that appointment as I was so dehydrated it landed me in the hospital and having to reschedule.

Guess what??? it was positive...... another oh less than 1% chance of having.

SO.......After all of THIS.....pPROMed 15 weeks....certain he wasn’t going to make it....was then going to be a micro preemie if he did....battling against IUGR and clubbed feet during....and then a positive test for accreta

I got myself a 38 weeker.......small…5lbs 8oz and with clubbed feet. (oh and there was no accreta)

When the doctor was telling one of his colleagues the story. She too said what the doctor told me when it was going on at the end. He’s something special.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.