Little Mac and Willow in Scottish Meanderings

Revised: 01/09/2017 7:30 a.m.

  • Jan. 8, 2017, 6 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I bought it :)


Bought what you might ask?

If you look underneath the monitor the little silver box is my new Mac Mini. And for the more eagle-eyed amongst you, yes it is upside down (now corrected)! You'd think the Apple logo on one side might have been a clue ......

But I had to stare at it frustratingly all day Friday because although it was delivered on Thursday night at 8.30 p.m. the fact that I had hoovered the house on Wednesday then on Thursday, in order to stop Nikki spontaneously self-combusting due to being stuck in the house with 2 little girls all week, I had gone with them all for a walk in the afternoon, meant that I was stuck in bed all Friday. We must have only walked for just over an hour although there were little spurts of running involved by Lily and I to try and keep warm because it was bitterly cold so maybe that's what did it. And when I say 'running' that would have described what Lily was doing. What her granny was doing would have been more - shuffling fast - as both knees protested to the sudden rush of activity.

So on Friday morning around 5.30 a.m. when I got up to the go to the loo and couldn't physically open my eyes, I knew I was in trouble. This often happens when it's going to be a bad day. I literally can't get my eyes to open. It only lasts for a few minutes but the first time it happened it was quite scary.

Therefore instead of unveiling the new addition to the household I had to stare forlornly at the box beside my pc instead -


unable to do anything with it. Maddening.

Then on Sunday I drove up and back to Inverness (about 200 miles) with Nikki and the girls to see the Very Smiley Wee Jessie on her first birthday so that wiped me out yesterday and I had to stay in bed until 5 again. Maddening x 2.

But I had a sneaky feeling I needed to buy an extra piece of kit for my ancient monitor to connect to the Mac anyway and on investigation after a bit of research I sussed I needed a mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter so once I was up and dressed I ordered that and after that's delivered I should be up and running I think.

It kind of terrifies me to start all over again with a new computer - I've had this one since 2008 so it's done not bad as it was only a cheap ACER from ASDA. The reason I'm worried is because I'm not entirely sure that I'm getting back ups from this pc on icloud. I think I've set it up to do that - certainly it's happening for the iphone and ipad but the pc? Not so sure.

I just hope it's not a frustrating, why-is-nothing-working, scream-inducing business like so many circumstances involving technology nowadays. And I have to admit technology served me well on Friday when I was lying in bed half dead feeling just a bit pissed off that my body refuses to work properly. Strangely, in those circumstances, I always end up reading diaries of really busy people - people who fill every minute of the day - and people who write pretty much every day as well. I've never quite worked out what's going on there but I find it weirdly comforting.

And so I'm reading away and came across a link to what I thought was a song. I tend not to click on links if there are a lot of them and almost didn't click on this one but I did and I was so glad. It was a piece of beautiful piano music - very much in the style I love - and I think it came at just the right moment. Tears filled my eyes as I listened and I could feel all the stress immediately leaving my body. Music can be so evocative can't it?

Then this morning I was just finishing this when Willow jumped up to keep me company ......


...... and I realised I was reading NorthernTeacher's diary and specifically an entry about Fergus. Some of you will know Fergus if you read her diary. It was quite funny to see the two cats together.


Now I need to get my skates on and get dressed (I've just narrowly avoided the window cleaner again!) for an appointment at the JobCentre. Joy.

Last updated January 08, 2018


^..^Kat January 09, 2017

Fergus and Willow could be siblings. :)
I'm so sorry that your activity caused so much bed rest, but I'm happy you listen to your body.

Marg ^..^Kat ⋅ January 10, 2017

They could couldn't they? :)

MageB January 09, 2017

So sorry about all those retreats. You just take care of you.

Marg MageB ⋅ January 10, 2017

Thank you! I'm getting more used to them now but it's a slow business getting better. Sometimes if I look at where I was this time last year I can see the improvement in a more optimistic light.

edna million January 09, 2017

Willow! What a handsome fellow - and Fergus is as well!

That is frustrating to not be able to set the computer up and use it immediately, but very good that you know when you need to rest and that you do it. I'm sure that's one reason you've made such progress this past year. Very scary about not being able to open your eyes!

I hope it's all set up and running perfectly now. It seems like there is not much to actually set up these days, and I think with Apple especially it's a breeze. I predict you will REALLY love it!

Marg edna million ⋅ January 10, 2017

Wooo-hoooo she lives! :) Lovely to see your name in here! I'm hoping it will be a breeze - all the reviews seem to point to it - still waiting for the thingy I need to connect the monitor so will attempt the Scary Task once that arrives :)

They say if folk with chronic fatigue get enough rest at the very beginning it helps them to improve long-term so I'm really hoping that's true.

edna million January 09, 2017

And, now that I have at last caught up (and WILL MAKE AN ENTRY TOMORROW I SWEAR) I wanted to let you know the exciting news- Kim and I are coming over again! April 28- May 16. We aren't going to be in London this time, but will be in Cornwall the first week and near Bath the second. Kim has this bizarre vacation membership thing that she joined as a government employee which she pays a small fee for and then gets free vacation lodging. I honestly didn't expect it to work out at all - she is very inclined to get suckered into things that sound to good to be true, and then ARE too good to be true- but this actually is true and we got a FREE week in Cornwall, near Bodmin. Then found a great deal on an AirBnB near Bath, AND got insanely cheap airline tickets. Bizarrely I found the tickets the day after our horrifying unbelievable election- $640 for round trip on a legitimate airline with very normal flight times. Half what we were expecting at best, so that was quite exciting.

I'm sure it is quite a long shot, given all you have going on, and the CFS difficulties as well, but we certainly would LOVE to see you! I know it's a long long way, though - we do have an extra room in Cornwall!

Marg edna million ⋅ January 10, 2017

Wow how exciting! I hope I can make it work - it would be great to see you guys again! And both Cornwall and Bath are places I would love to see. I'll have a look into prices of flights and so on - might do the train thing again like I did last time although I know it meant we'd hardly any time but that might work out better in the sense I'll have plenty of chance for rest (on the train) and a short visit might not knacker me completely. Such a pain this thing. That's a great price for your flights - it's brilliant when you get bargains like that isn't it? Are you thinking of contacting Jamez as well? He would be round that area I think?

edna million Marg ⋅ January 10, 2017

OH, how wonderful would that be!!??!?! I hope it will work out! I did think I'd contact Jamez - I believe we're not going to be too far from where he lives, and I'd love to meet him.

Marg edna million ⋅ January 11, 2017

Me too! I know he must be pretty near as he's travelled to Bath before to meet someone from OD.

NorthernSeeker January 10, 2017

Well, this is the most awesome entry EVER!! I just called Mr. NT downstairs to have a look at the photos. Fergus would fit in very well with your three guys but I'm pretty sure you'd never, ever be get into your bed again with him added to the gang. He weighs 16 pounds, maybe even more since I've found a few more rolls. Willow and Fergus could be brothers!

Thanks so much for posting these photos.

A one hour walk with your granddaughters equals a whole day in bed? It shows how much you love them...wish it didn't cost you so much.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 11, 2017

Haha glad you got a kick out of them and of course you can copy them! I'm not sure Willow has EVER been called svelte in his life - this guy eats for Scotland let me tell you. The other two are like "Marg just when you get a minute we could do with a little snack if you're not busy - no rush" Willow is like "GIVE ME ALL THE FOOD NOW - I'M ABOUT TO EXPIRE AT ANY MINUTE!" :)

NorthernSeeker January 10, 2017

I hope you don't mind, but I've copied these photos for myself. I still can't get over the coincidence and how wonderful prosebox is for bringing so many people together.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 11, 2017

I know it's great isn't it?

NorthernSeeker January 10, 2017

Willow has the same light green eyes as Fergus but he is much more svelte.

Deleted user January 15, 2017

Willow and Fergus! Such pretty cats ! I know way too much about the days where your body just will not cooperate . It's horrible .

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 16, 2017

It is isn't it? So hard to get used to.

Deleted user Marg ⋅ January 16, 2017

So frustrating !!!

Deleted user January 23, 2017

Willow looks just like my grand daughter's kitty. I think that you are going to like your new Mac. It takes a bit to get used to it, but once you do, you won't want to go back to a PC again.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 23, 2017

That's what I've been picking up from all MAC users so I'm hoping I'll feel the same way! Just figuring out a way of getting everything backed up on my Windows PC so that I can transfer everything over - it's such a fiddly business that I'm procrastinating about it :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.