Pretty Good Again - 6/6/2007 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 17, 2013, 1:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Monday morning there was an awards breakfast. It was boring. It was so boring. It was like a marathon, it was so boring. I sat there for four hours and clapped politely every few seconds. I was also shaking the whole time, because I am very competetive and was very concerned about what the hell awards I was getting. I was all tense. I hate things that are boring and nerve wracking at the same time.

I got an award for scoring nationally in the national French contest again, and a marching band scholarship for seven hundred and fifty dolars, and the Count Basie Award for Excellence and Achievement in Jazz, with Julian. That was my favorite one, again. I thought about hugging Mr. Thomas when I went up there, but I ended up not doing it. I was concentrating too hard on getting up and down the stairs with my awkward shoes.

Molly got the somebody or other memorial overall music award. Dave got an award for doing well in a math contest, along with the valedictorian and that kid who might be autistic. Julian got the coveted Odyssey award, and like four scholarships. I was jealous. I don't know why I insist on being competetive even with him. I wish I wouldn't do that. "Yeah, he's better than you," said a little voice. "If he weren't better than you, you wouldn't admire him so much. If you want there to be amazing people, you have to not be as good as them." Some part of me was still unaffected by this little voice.

"Well, you got more than Molly and Dave, didn't you?" This little voice had a considerably greater effect.

At the end of the ceremony, my father brought me over to Mr. Thomas so that he could take a picture. Before he could do that, Mr. Thomas looked at me and said, "Alright Aidan, let's try this again," and gave me a hug. It was a pretty intense hug. I felt a little bit squished. Also, I could feel his beard on my cheek. He released me from the hug and gave me an envelope.

"So I uh... I actually wasn't listening very hard..." I said. "What did I win? I know they announced me seperately from the other band scholarships..." Eric, Schultz and Greg got something too, but seemingly not the same thing as me.

"Yeah, you got the big one. Yours is the best." He smiled.

"Oh. Thanks..."

"Can I get a picture?" said my father.

"Oh, sure, sure," said Mr. Thomas. There was some awkward moving around during which I think we were trying to figure out whether he was going to put his arm around me. I forget whether or not he did. The picture got taken.

"Well... I'll see you at graduation." I felt very dizzy.

"Goodbye Aidan. Congratulations."


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.