Another Masterpiece - 4/25/2007 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 16, 2013, 7:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wrote this essay in French. I translated it just for you guys.


Essentially, my entire life is based on music. I am in at least six bands at the school, and most of my friends are the people that I play music with. Also, I am going to major in music in college.

It's funny - I cannot explain why I am obsessed with music. I like it, certainly, and it's easy for me. But I never decided: "Okay, I love music so much that it is what I am going to do all the time in highschool, and then I will do it for a living." On the contrary, the obsession happened so gradually that it took me a really long time to notice it. Before the ninth grade, I played the flute and piano, rather badly and not at all seriously. When my parents asked me if maybe I might want to join the marching band, I said, "sure." After that, I thought maybe it would be fun to join pit orchestra, and then other things, and now for some reason I play three instruments, I practice almost every day, I have my own jazz band, and when people are looking for me, they go to the band room. I don't particularly have a strong desire to become a professional musician, but when I had to choose a major, I said to myself, "Well, I guess I must like music a lot, since I do it all the time. I should probably do that." It's also just a question of habit - the thought of majoring in something else scared me, because I can no longer imagine my life without music, all the time.

You probably expected something more descriptive, or sentimental, or something. So here you go: It is true that music affects me a lot emotionally. I think it's better than language for expressing emotion. I listen to a lot of music, when I'm not playing it, because it makes things more beautiful. I feel more strongly when I listen to music, and even if I'm feeling sadness, it's beautiful. Music is also my favorite way to socialize. You feel close to people when you play with them. It's like having a conversation, and it can be a very deep conversation. People have voices and personalities on their instruments too, which are often similar to their real life personalities. This is intereting. There. That was the part that answered the question.

This essay is too long. It's over now.


We are playing Summertime in A band. I enjoy it to an unreasonable extent. Like, I have an afterglow for a few minutes every time we play it. Dave was laughing at things that were only slightly funny today. He was wearing his sweatshirt. Molly left a random heart emoticon on his facebook. They seem to come to school together now. I saw Julian make physical contact with Speedy. I am considering suicide again. Not very seriously. I'll take a shower and get over it.

Less than three months until I can forget about these people.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.