This Entry Is About Very Little - 4/25/2007 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 16, 2013, 8:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think I am resolving to be less pompous. I think I am resolving this because I am reading the Adrian Mole diaries, and they are depressingly familiar. The real-life level of arrogance in my diaries is really not much lower than the comic level of arrogance in Adrian Mole's diaries. Reading them, I was like, "Yup, that's exactly how I wrote when I was thirteen. And... That's exactly how I wrote when I was fifteen. And... I am basically still writing like that, aren't I? I know what I'm talking about a little more than when I was thirteen, but I'm still just as arrogant." I think that anybody who keeps a diary is bound to be an egomaniac, really. (I mean, just look around this website for thirty seconds. No offense, anybody.) But if I'm going to be an egomaniac, I can at least hide it.

One thing I am proud of about my early teenage years: I never tried to write any poetry.

I am still kind of in one of those post-breakdown moods where I cannot really bring myself to think too hard about how I feel. I am just sort of living one day at a time and not worrying as much as I should and concentrating on books and bagels and not much else. So here is what I have to say: I have just drunk too much iced tea for someone who does not react well to caffeine, and I have been staring at the computer for too long, so I feel kind of weird. It is cooler out than it was supposed to be, but it feels nice. I got to come home early today. I like coming home early. I have been eating at the sub shop across the street lately when I come home early. This makes me happy. I think I will walk to jazz band today. I hung out with Speedy yesterday for a little bit. It was awkward. I cannot tell how Speedy feels about me. Molly and Dave keep wearing their sweatshirts, but again, I sort of just do not think about it. The new Ann says that I should just try to tolerate Molly and Dave for the rest of highschool and then lose touch with them in college since I am going to anyway. I guess this is alright with me.

I am trying to work on my trichotillomania with her. I figure it is time to cut that out, but I've tried and it hasn't worked. She says that you can just take a pill for it. It is apparantly the same pill they use when you have the hiccups all the time, or a nervous tic. I said that that was good, since I have the hiccups all the time, and a nervous tic. I think I would be okay with taking that kind of pill, since it seems like it actually does something physiologically, instead of just drugging you up to make you happy. I don't think I want my parents to know why I need it though. Mostly because I feel like they'd say, "Well, your hair looks fine." And then I'd have to explain that uh... I don't do it anywhere that you can see. My doctor knows, I'm pretty sure. The last time I had a physical, she sort of cringed at how cut up and infected everything is down there. She just told me that maybe I should stop shaving, but I feel like she knows. I also feel like my doctor knows that most of my physical illnesses are caused or enhanced by nerves. I think we both know that if I could somehow just calm down and cheer up a little, I would go to her much less often.

I need to stop being so honest with the internet.

The Adrian Mole diaries are good books. Also, L'Etranger turned out to be worth reading. I have resolved to be a better student this term, but I have now been on the internet for more than two hours, so clearly that is not working out.

I think that is about all. Sorry I'm not feeling interesting or coherant right now.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.