Home (pt1) in A Day in the Life of Me

  • Dec. 27, 2016, 10:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Xmas eve
Well, we got home without (to much of ) a hitch. Uncles picked us up at 830, and Mom met us an hour outside of home, we swapped the gifts and such from the uncles car to hers, and then got on our way.
Told her on the way home of the two stores (one grocery and one drug) that I had points saved up for that if she needed ANYTHING, we would go get it before the stores closed at 5.
We pulled in to town, and she still couldn’t think of anything, so we went to fuel up, then headed home.

Sat around for a bit, talking shit, getting mauled by the dog and the cat(s) and drinking tea, talking about what to do. She keeps talking about how she goes to start stuff, and never seems to get anything finished. She hadn’t decorated and I honestly wasn’t surprised, and she talked about putting up the tree, but we told her not to worry about it. She asked D if he would mind moving a few heavy things for her (like he would say no) in the bedroom, and helped take some blocks off from under the feet at the head of the bed. dad could not lay flat and has never really been able to so he had put wood blocks NAILED to the bedroom floor under the head board, rearranged the bed for her, and as we got that done, started raining, just as we talked again about going to town. THEN an old friend of dads popped in.
We did end up going to town after he left, with 2 hrs to spare as mom realized she forgot to get squash to go with xmas day dinner.
While at the grocery store, we got a bunch of stuff for her that she (sorta) needed for food stuffs, made me feel a little better.
On the way out, I noticed cut flowers were all reduced half, Mom knew what I was thinking and agreed, so I grabbed a bunch of blue Hydrangeas, (dad could never say that word for what ever reason, so he always called them blue roses, kind of there inside joke thing) and then i asked if we could go out to the cemetery in the middle of town, IN the rain no less to put a stem of the flowers on my late step brothers grave, took me forever to find as it had been years since i had been out there, and after I moved out of town, Dad had always gone out before I had gotten home, and on top of that I found out today from other step bro that there WAS a path way near his site that had been removed. She took another bunch to put on her brothers grave who happens to be in the same cemetery, then on the way home we stopped and D and I put the last stem on Dads as hes buried down the road from the house in the community grave yard.
Mom said I was on my own for that one as she just couldn’t yet. Fully understand.
Went home, made a supper of rice-a-roni and creamed lobster, then stared drinking and playing Phase 10.

Was a good time went to bed way to late.

And I just realized how long this entry has already gotten and there is still 2 more days to write about, so I will stop for now and stay tuned for part 2. lol


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.