On Anonymity - 12/18/2006 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 17, 2013, 1:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been trying to decide for a while whether to call First Choice College by its real name here. I went through the same thing with the city I live near. I tried to be anonymous at first, but it kind of went out the window after the jazz festival entry. It was extremely difficult to avoid saying that it took place at Berklee, and the fact that I did avoid it made the entry kind of awkward. So I gave up and started saying "Boston," and no one has showed up at my house to rape me yet. However, the college thing is a little weirder. Knowing what state I live in is one thing, but knowing what college I go to narrows things down to one specific group of people all living in one place. What if, for example, someone at the college found my diary? It would be pretty easy for them to figure out exactly who I was, which could lead to major problems. Besides this, my mother and I just had a mini-fight about my internet safety habits, which she knows nothing about. She just knows that I have a facebook, which she assumes is not safe because of stories on the news. My mother's attitude towards the internet is pretty stupid, but the argument made me feel guilty because it is true that I do not always practice good internet safety.

But First Choice College is a dumb name, so I have decided to rename it Graham University. It is not particularly important which specific college it is anyway.

That is all. Onto real things.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.