This ol house in Musings

  • Dec. 22, 2016, 2:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The idea had been tossed around but now it looks like we are for sure moving into a house owned by my in laws. They moved back in the summer to a different town and were unable to sell it. They are renting it out now but those people are moving out at the end of January.

That house is bigger and better in pretty much every way. The house we are renting now only has 2 bedrooms so the girls have to share, it doesn’t have central heat and air, the living space is choppy and hard to use, the neighborhood sucks, and the backyard is barely usable.

But truth be told I’m going to miss it.

This was the house where Leah took her first steps, took her first bite of food, where she learned to talk and grew up right before my eyes. It’s the house where we conceived and brought Alex home to. It’s the place where I really grew and thrived in my business. It housed maybe tears, fights, excitement, and joy. I know those memories will live on but in a way it’ll bother me not to be able to tangibly be in the place where they happened.

My in laws are so generous to be letting us live in their home and it’ll be a great place for the girls to play and grow. It just feels like the end of an era or something. Like down the road when we are talking about memories we will mark time by wether or not something happened while we were still living in this house. And it makes me sad that Alex definitely won’t remember it and Leah probably won’t.

Maybe it’s weird to be so attached to a building like this. It’s the same sort of way people anthropomorphize objects or carry around souviners that represent a certain trip, I guess. This home has so many memories. It has been a roof over our heads. It has kept us warm in the winter. It kept us safe during storms. It was a refuge when what was happening outside our walls were just too much.

We will move on but I want to say thank you to this house for all it’s been to me these past 3 years.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.