Goal Oriented in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Dec. 22, 2016, 12:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today; I have specific goals that I will accomplish before end of day.
(1) HA Paperwork
(2) LM Paperwork
(3) JD Paperwork
(4) NF Paperwork
(5) Catch up on PB
(6) Oil Change Phone Call
(7) Mental Health Hearing
(8) Clean Kitchen/Laundry
(9) Begin to pack for Christmas Trip.

SO… lets see how I do. Ready.... 8:49 a.m..... and.... GO
(1) Completed. 9:02 a.m.
(2) Completed. 9:18 a.m.
(3) Completed. 9:23 a.m.
(4).... can’t find the file, have to track it down.... aaaaaaaaaand, it is Boss’ case. No wonder it hasn’t been taken care of in over a month. Granted, I’m no better. But at least when someone brings something to my attention, I move on it.

Meanwhile, Cecilia’s life is getting more hectic as her husband is about to begin treatments that they don’t expect to save his life. So she’s a bit of a mess and isn’t here very often. Which.. of course… I’m using as another excuse for why a lot of my work is rather hectic right now. And why, when the Board of Supervisors asks if we can run this office with even less staff, I get a bit irate. I have had, at most, a 10% secretary. And no communication with a Boss figure. Granted, that might change next year with the new incoming County Attorney… but if it wasn’t working before; don’t defund to make it work. I understand that is the No Child Left Behind Mindset and that was moronic.

Oh… and I know this is ridiculous and stupid and counter productive and everything but… did you notice that my actual paperwork goals for the day took less than an hour? Yeah. That’s what I’m talking about when I say I come here and just… don’t do anything… because I have no sense of urgency and no relevant “give a shit.” If it wasn’t for the fact that I have to wait on Defense Counsel and Defendants (defendants who often don’t return the phone calls of even their own lawyers).... this job would be a part time job taken care of by almost anyone who wanted it. Now, I’ll confess this may all change when Ran takes office. He may look at things and go “What the hell?” but then hopefully, he’ll teach me how it is supposed to be done better.

(5) Read another 30 PB entries. Only another 50 plus left, lol. Completed at 10:30 a.m.

At which time the Clerk’s office sends over a request. Talk about the left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing! I received a request from the clerk of court to file Cancellations on Open Warrants in a Misdemeanor Case. I filed those. This morning, the other clerk of court requests that I file those cancellations in a different case because “she thinks” that is the one that needs the cancellations. Okay… you work literally at the same desk. How is this something that doesn’t get worked out before you make a request for action? So… a re-file with different numbers attached. Not a big hassle, but the inefficiency of it all is a bit irksome. I took care of it. So surprise element completed 10:45 a.m.

We now take a brief intermission to provide a confession: The only thing that really takes a LOT of time… that I don’t do often because it shouldn’t take this much time… is scheduling and organizing. If I didn’t have to do everything manually and/or had a better understanding… I think I could honestly do that part better. Maybe that’s something I should tackle hard after lunch? Just… try to force myself to sit down, organize like a mother-bitch, and get cracking on shit that won’t even begin to almost matter until late January. But, again, that’s something that bothers me/pisses me off/sucks. I keep thinking the dueling thoughts. Thought 1: If you get everything done, everything will be done! Thought 2: I’ll never get everything done because everything I do requires Defense Attorney and Defendant to respond; so I have to wait on those parties to finish everything. Thought 1: Okay, but get as far as you can because then you won’t have to worry and you can make sure all of the blame, should it come to that, falls on the defense. Thought 2: But then what would I do? Honestly not having something to do every day is a tragic thought!

(Tangential Thought That Should Go Here But Is Being Saved For Later)

(6) Oil Change Phone Call; Oil Change Scheduled for 3:00 on Thursday afternoon: December 29.

My hearing isn’t for another 3 hours… and it is one where I am going to “lose” because someone with a Mental Disability is not considered a Mental Health Respondent in this area so despite what help that person may or may not need; I am unable to compel the County to take a role in the continuing welfare of this individual. ::eye roll:: Again, coming to the conclusion that my job as a Government Representative of this County is to make sure “problems are dealt with.” Not “make sure justice is done.” Not “Provide for the safety and law of the community”. More… make sure poor people stay poor. Take care to make sure the well connected aren’t in trouble. Make it look like we give a damn about people we openly neglect. Shit like that.

SO… a brief series of distractions.
20 COLLABORATIONS BETWEEN THE LAST PEOPLE YOU’D EXPECT
6 SCIENCE BREAKTHROUGHS THAT MIGHT SAVE HUMANITY
REUNITING WITH SPIDER-MAN MOVIES AFTER 10 AWFUL YEARS
15 RESOLUTIONS AND HOW YOU’LL RATIONALIZE BREAKING THEM

45 ABSURD TINDER PROFILES
Reading articles like this one… well, they make me think things, lol. First, I think… “If they’d had Tinder when I was growing up, would I have used it?” Which then leads me to think, “Man, I’m still a little bummed that I never had a ‘fun’ stage in my life. I went from 150% Extracurricular Involvement to Crippled Gimp Pain Master to this path I’ve been on now for around 11 years.”

So that’s my morning. Paperwork done quickly. A few surprise requests handled no problem. Time for lunch, a hearing, and then (likely) spending the afternoon trying to figure out how to better organize and plan the shit around here. But before I go… an honest request for advice:

It is no great reveal that my wife and I find our current location to be unpleasant. It is honestly something that the two of us would like to remove ourselves from. We would certainly prefer to be somewhere closer to family; somewhere closer to friends; somewhere closer to a U.S. Bank; somewhere closer to a Cineplex; somewhere closer to a Starbucks; somewhere closer to a Wal Mart; somewhere closer to a Mall… you get my drift. And as wonderful and freeing as it would be to give this area the bird and say, “Fuck off, assholes!” I still have a major, anxiety inducing problem. At present, I live very close to my office so I don’t use a lot of fuel… our house rent is super cheap at around 500 something… and my job makes 60k. Wife uses a lot of fuel to get to her job… and her job makes 15-20k. If we were to just pull out of this place and go where we want to go… I’d have no job… zero income. Wife would be making 30K and would not use as much fuel… and rent would be anywhere between 650 to 900. So we would make considerably less money and our expenses would go up. I’m just… having a massive difficulty trying to figure out if it is an acceptable exchange. IS IT more important to live near family and friends and feel less… isolated, lonely, and depressed.... but when we realize that we can’t afford things; will we simply become depressed again anyway? I’m trying to determine whether the possibility of happiness is more important than the reality of needing money. It feels… wrong, in some ways. But it is an important and necessary question to ask. Financial Semi-Stability or A Better Opportunity for Happiness?


Pinkerton December 22, 2016

I guess it depends on how miserable you are. Even in a low cost of living area, it is REALLY hard to live on $30k and would pretty much require you to forego all luxuries as well as some essentials (such as saving for retirement). Don't forget about healthcare too.

Then again, you have no greater asset than your health. If the sh*t truly hits the fan, perhaps you could supplement your wife's salary with some contract work. An extra $10-$15k would go a long way toward providing stability until you find something permanent.

Deleted user December 31, 2016

Hard to choose . I know money worries tend to eat you alive after awhile .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.