Superlatives - 9/25/2006 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 16, 2013, 7:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I did less than I usually do. I hung around not doing anything for the first half of gym. Instead of the second half of gym, I went to a mass guidence meeting during which my guidence councelor essentially told about thirty of us, "guys, you should really get on this college thing." I didn't really learn anything about the college thing that I didn't already know. Julian was in the group before us, and left his jacket on one of the Williams center chairs. I picked it up, figuring I could give it to him later.

I looked for his second block class, since I thought I knew vaguely what hallway it was in. But I couldn't find it, so I gave up and brought the jacket to Chinese. I didn't really do anything during Chinese. During first lunch I did my calculus homework in the band room. During second lunch, I ate lunch. I also talked to people about the all important task of voting for senior superlatives. (The voting sheets just came out today.)

"Vote for me for best car! You're all voting for me for best car, right?" said Molly.

"I feel like I should be campaigning for something," said Eric, "but I don't know what."

"Well, I'm voting for you for best dimples..." I said.

"No, not best dimples."

"But you have adorable dimples!" said Molly. "Look! Look at his dimples!"

"What about best school spirit?" suggested one of Eric's female friends who I don't really know.

He laughed. "I have no school spirit. People think I have school spirit, but I have no school spirit at all."

"Yeah, that's... True. And you're the mascot."

"I know!"

"And the drum major."

"I know!"

"And you're running the pep band this year."

"I know!"

"What about most musical?"

"Yeah, people are going to vote for me for that, but I'm totally not that either. Hey Aidan, should I vote for you for that, or Bonnie?"

"Me, of course. What are you talking about? Jeez, at least Bonnie will get quietest. if I don't get most musical I won't get anything."

"I bet most musical will end up being like, guitarists in crappy metal bands, just because not enough people know the band geeks," said Schultz.

"Not necessarily. Alice and Jay got it last year."

"And there aren't any female crapy metal guitarists. That has to go to a band geek."

"'Best all around'? What kind of ridiculous superlative is that?"

"I'm going to the band room," I said.

"I'll come with," said Eric, "I have to make sure Chloe's still where I left her." *

We went to the band room. "Who's jacket is that?" said Eric.

"Julian's."

"Julian's in your independant study?"

"No, he left it at the guidence thing."

"So you're... carrying it around."

"Yes."

"Oh. Ok."

Pause. He sniggered.

"'Most asexual: Julian.'"

"Did you find Chloe yet?"

"No, I don't know where she is. This is a problem. Oh no, here we go, someone put her in the closet. Yay!"

During third lunch Mr. Thomas gave me a finale lesson while Dave, Bonnie and Speedy hung out with each other. (Poor Dave. It seemed to be going okay though.) They left a little before the bell rang, so I had to chase Dave down to give him the jacket.

"This isn't mine."

"I know. It's Julian's, and you're in AP physics."

"Oh. Alright."

I'm not sure why the jacket thing seemed so significant. I guess because it felt good. It felt good to be doing something nice for him. It felt good to be carrying something of his around - holding it for him until I could return it to him. I guess I'm still at least a little obsessed with him. Perhaps it's just out of habit.

I went to calculus and did nothing. Then I came home and did nothing. Seriously, I've done almost nothing for the past five hours. I did freak out about college a little again as a result of that meeting, and took out my first choice school application and convinced myself that I was doing something without actually doing anything. But that was about it.

I do really want to get most musical. Because I am. I am the most musical. But I'm really not anything else. That's the only way people know me. A lot of people don't know me at all. It's a little sad.

Two days left until the official beginning of the Alternative Jazz Band.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.