Update! - 9/24/2006 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 17, 2013, 1:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like I should update, but I have writer's block. This calls for a list of random things.

Random thing number one: Tuesday, I got stuck on the roof of the school. I was waiting around for my Chinese teacher to correct something, and I didn't want to walk all the way down to the band room and back up, so I just kind of wandered around the third floor being bored. While I was doing this, I noticed that a door that opens up to part of the second floor roof was wide open. I stuck my head out of it and looked around. There was no one out there. So I decided it might be cool to go out onto the roof, just to see what it was like. It actually was pretty cool. The roof of the school is a weird place. You get the sense of being in an abandoned wasteland, because there's nothing in sight but gravel and sheets of metal and sky, and the occasional vent that sticks up wherever it feels like. It's vast and flat and disorganized. It's cool to be above everything else too - to know that there's a bunch of stuff going on right below you, but that you're completely seperate from it - that up where you are, everything's calm and silent.

I stood and just took it in for a while, and then I walked a few yards away from the door. Then there was a breeze and the door blew shut.

I said, out loud, "I should have seen that coming. Now the door's going to be locked, isn't it?" I went over and tried the door. It was locked.

"Crap."

I went over to a window that looked out onto my part of the roof and knocked on it. Someone opened the blinds. All the kids in the classroom laughed, and the teacher came over.

"Hey, uh... Do you think you could just send someone out here to open the door? It's locked from the outside."

The teacher himself came over and tried to open the door. Then he came back around to the window and said that the door was locked from the inside too. So he picked up the phone in his classroom and called the janitor while all the kids continued to laugh. It was a good fifteen minutes before the janitor came up and let me back inside. She yelled at me a little bit, but not as much as I had expected. I went and picked up the Chinese quiz, and then I went down to the band room for my senior exhibition block. I figured I'd end up getting in at least a little trouble, but I didn't. There has been absolutely no aftermath. It's kind of bizarre.

Random thing number two: My senior exhibition starts this Wednesday, for real. I am a little nervous. But I am also encouraged by the people who have already told me that they're interested. There are quite a few of them, and they're good. Lately, in a concerted effort to be more friendly, I have been waving to acquaintances in the hallway. One of these acquaintances is Speedy the alto. He is the only one who makes me feel like maybe I should stop waving to acquaintances in the hallway. He seems really uncomfortable. (But then again, he always seems kind of uncomfortable. He doesn't talk too much.) But once when I was in my senior exhibition block, he walked into the band room and said, "So I saw those signs for that Alternative Jazz Band thing. I think I'm gonna do that." and then sat down at the band room table with me and ate his lunch in complete silence while I read my book on jazz composition. He now comes in every day during third lunch and hangs out with me and Bonnie and Dave, and says almost nothing.

The new tuba player said he'd do it too, and seems very eager. (But then again, he always seems kind of eager.) Allie the obnoxious flute player told me that I was her hero for doing this and that she would definately definately join. And although she is obnoxious, I think that she is a good musician, and I think that she is the kind of good musician that I am looking for. She understands music, and she loves music, and she is really excited about music, especially music that is unconventional. There is a classical violist-slash-jazz pianist-slash-vocalist who apparantly told Molly that he wanted do it as soon as she casually mentioned it to him several months ago. I talked to him the other day, and he says he still really wants to do it, although he might have to miss some practices because of the school play. There's a very talented violinist in AP Frech who seems moderately interested. I overheard T.K. talking to someone else about doing it at a football game. Laura Euphonium is a definate yes. Even Bonnie pseudo-reluctantly told me during concert band that she would "go just to see who was there." This genuinely surprised me. I thought she was classical to the core. I didn't even ask her. Then there's Dave, Molly and Julian. And me. That's twelve people. I have one and three halves of songs arranged on garage band. One and two halves are original, although they are all pretty derivitave. But yeah, so far, looking pretty damn good.

Random thing number three: there is going to be another battle of the bands in a couple weeks, and apparantly I have a band again. It consists of Dave, Julian, Noah and Schultz. We practiced without Noah last night at my house. I was really excited about having a bari as one of our horns at first, but Schultz... didn't play very well, and doesn't seem that into it. I hope that works out ok. I hope the whole thing works out okay. It wasn't a bad practice, but it wasn't a good practice. And we don't exactly know what we're playing yet.

At least it was good socially. I felt... sort of attracted to Julian when he was over here. I think. I don't really know what's going on with that.

Random thing number four: Molly and Dave came over Friday night, and we saw Little Miss Sunshine and then hung out for six hours analyzing the movie and each other. It is an excellent movie. You should all go see it.

Random thing number five: My random things keep getting shorter because I am feeling sick, and therefore get a headache when I am at the computer for too long. I don't want to be sick. This is not a good time for me to be sick. But I just feel a little queasy and a little headachey and a little tired and a little stuffy all the time. Not too much, just a little of everything. Blegh.

Random thing number six: It is Molly's birthday today. I wish that I had not already given her all the songs I would normally put on a mixed CD, or that I had had the foresight to order a webcomic t-shirt off the internet four to six weeks ago.

I think that's it.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.