Things I've Lied About: - 9/17/2006 in 2005 - 2007: High School

  • Aug. 16, 2013, 8:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes, for the purpose of making this diary work better as a story, I leave things out or change things slightly. For some reason, today I feel like owning up to these things.

1. There are two Odyssey teachers. It is a team-taught class. I never talked about the other teacher because I knew and liked Mr. Sampson a lot better. It's not that I dislike the other teacher, or that she doesn't do as much as Mr. Sampson does. She just kind of gets overshaddowed by Mr. Sampson's overwhelming weirdness and likeability. I decided to leave her out permanently for simplicity's sake, which in retrospect probably wasn't a good idea.

2. The rock opera referred to as "Jay's rock opera" was actually written by Jay's older brother. But it was simpler to say that Jay wrote it since I had already introduced him as a character, and it added to the idea of him being an amazing musician. (In my defense, Jay probably could write a rock opera if he wanted to.)

3. Jason was not trumpet section leader last year. The official title belonged to a very nerdy person who probably could have been a fairly interesting, major character if I'd ever decided to introduce him. The actual trumpet section leader was a completely socially inept and pretty incometant member of the band. He had good intentions, so when kids made fun of him, we were mostly making fun of him good-naturedly. But Mr. Thomas genuinely hated him. It was kind of funny.

4. The Chicken. This is not exactly a lie. It's just something that I keep finding myself wanting to refer to, but can't because I never introduced it. It's an inside joke (sort of) among band kids at the school that the Chicken is the best song ever. If people are deciding on a song to play, no matter what the situation is, the Chicken is usually suggested, and then everyone laughs. Mr. Casto finally let the jazz band play the Chicken last year after being bugged for several years by Jay, Rob, and various others, and everyone begged him to let us play it at every practice and every performance. I guess part of the reason I never wrote about the Chicken thing is that I don't understand it. Where did the Chicken thing originate? Is there a story behind it? Was it self-perpetuating? Is the Chicken just that good? Does it exist among all band geeks? all jazz people? Just within our school? Just among last year's seniors? Just with Jay and Rob and their friends? The world may never know. But it is definately a notable phenomenon. I very breifly alluded to it in this entry and again in this one.

5. The physical decription of Emily the Flutist is wrong. The girl I saw was actually Lenablo's adopted sister, and when I asked Mr. Thomas about her, he thought I was talking about the actual Emily the Flutist. So she is not, as Alicia had hoped, "chocolate."

6. Liz was never in the marching band. She was still a band geek - she was always in jazz band and pit and hung around with band geeks all the time, she just wasn't in marching band.

Those were all really picky things that you probably don't care about, but it felt good to get them off my chest. That is all.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.