Untitled by Zdislav Beksinski in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Dec. 14, 2016, 4:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Started writing this from court which is where I am catching up on some Prosebox.net reading. My County is dead. How dead is it? Despite only having magistrate court once a week (for comparison, Omaha had magistrate court once per day) there is literally only a single case on the docket… and it is a substance abuse committal. So I didn’t have any idea for what to title this so scanned some artwork named “Untitled” and found Zdislav Beksinski.

So… here’s what my day looked like.
No Cecilia in the office. Grabbed stuff for court and went to the Courthouse. BTW: with windchill, we are at -22 C today. Sat in the jury room waiting for the Magistrate. Considering who it is and how she is… I knew that even without a morning case; she would have a lot of questions about active cases and what we needed to do about them. And she did. And that lasted until 11:30. When I got a phone call from my boss that the Board had selected a County Attorney. It is, after all, Ran. A bright, young attorney that could honestly help this county and me out. But, he accepted the job as a Part Time job. And has not decided how much time he will spend in the county. So… that could suck giant flaming donkey dick for me. I had lunch at home and came back to court for a Mental Health Substance Abuse case. As seems to happen… a young woman under the age of 35 who has lived in the area her whole life. Which means she was hitting hard drugs by 17. She was diagnosed with “Severe Anti Social Personality Disorder” before our Hospital discharged her saying, “As a personality disorder and not a mood or psychoactive disorder; she does not need further hospital care.” Despite the fact that the whole proceeding stemmed for a violent argument she had where, at the end, she repeatedly threatened to kill herself. But they did find heavy traces of THC, Methamphetamine, and MDMA. BTW… our Magistrate is so dumb and out of touch; I had to tell her what MDMA was. Granted, I wouldn’t immediately assume that an Electrical Engineer knows what MDMA is… but if you are a lawyer and a Magistrate and have done one for 30 years and the other for 2… you should know what MDMA is. (It’s Ecstasy.) So, my position was that the patient undergo inpatient Drug Treatment so that we might better discover her potential mental health issues. The patient of course disagrees. Claiming that she doesn’t have a drug problem and that there is nothing wrong with her. SO.... I did the best I could and requested she get a 2nd Opinion from a doctor of her choosing. That is the entire story of that case. After that… I was on a 65 minute long conference call with Boss and Ran where Boss unequivocally proved to Ran that this County is horseshit. Ran asked about “Legal Research tools” in the county. Boss started talking about Microsoft Word. Lady… that… I mean… Boss, you’ve lost your fucking mind! So I jumped in to let Ran know that this county has no legal research tools. Hopefully, at the very least, Ran will help make this place run like an office. Then I came back to my office to try and do some actual work (of which I now have a bit more since I’m picking up Cecilia’s slack while she stays in the Hospital with her husband. But… I didn’t get back to my office until there was less than 20 minutes left in the work day. I suppose I could put in some more extra over time. But honestly… we all know I don’t give two shits about this place.


Rivercity December 14, 2016

Microsoft Word. Wow.

Pinkerton December 16, 2016

It sounds like Ran, even at part time, may have been a better choice than some of the full time candidates. Asking about legal research tools is a good sign.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.