Hand Foot and Mouth in 2016

  • Dec. 7, 2016, 7:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Is a disease my kids have. Yay.

The day before yesterday, I was putting Evelyn’s betaderm on her wrists and when I grabbed her hand to flip her arm over, she shouted in pain. I just thought she was being dramatic but she was very upset and said I squeezed too hard. I just thought I might have and I carried on. That night in the middle of the night, she woke up with sore feet. This has happened before with her legs so I gave her some tylenol and went back to bed.

Earlier that night Miley had a spot on her foot which was red and painful, I just assumed she stepped on something and carried on lol … Great mom eh?

Yesterday after school I took Evelyn’s mitt off and she cried out in pain to watch because her hands had bruises! I was like WHAT ?? Evelyn’s not one to complain about anything at all so when I looked, I noticed reddish patches with some obvious bumps. And honestly they kind of looked like bruises… I took them both up the hospital to have it looked at, kind of figuring it was HFMD.

It is. They don’t have any other symptoms though, I guess because they’re a bit older. Not sure how that all works. Evelyn’s got a lot of pain in her hands and Miley is basically fine.

Kristen <3


Hotaru December 08, 2016

I've heard that's a tough illness. My friend's husband had it and couldn't eat because his mouth was so sore. He found that gargling children's liquid benadryl helped relieve some of the pain. I hope your girls get over it quick.

read.my.lips December 08, 2016

Ugh, so sorry! Ibuprofen will help relieve the pain. Sanitize everything!

intoxicatingbeauty December 11, 2016

Ugh that is the worsr! My son had it and it was not a fun couple of days.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.