Winter Warlock in General

  • Dec. 6, 2016, 9:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, looks like the Winter Warlock has finished sharpening his spurs.

I got about an inch of snow. Up in ‘Salems Lot they got about three inches.

I did the predictive thing of whether I needed to clear my drive and decided to just let the sun do the work. The front of my apartment gets a lot of sun this time of the year. That includes my driveway. By noon my driveway was clear.

More snow tomorrow. That’s cool.

I am already a bit tired of the holiday season. Things that seemed exciting when you are a kid, or even a young parent now just seem so freaking tedious. One family gathering after another. Buying presents for people who don’t really want them. Having to buy WalMart gift cards for millennials so they don’t use my money on tats. Sorry ink lovers - ink is ugly, stupid and a waste of money. And did I mention ugly? You want to do that to yourself, spend your own money.

It has been a few years, but I suppose it is my turn to do New Years. Galbi (Korean BBQ ribs), black eyed peas from raw. OI (cucumber) Kimchi. Mexican cornbread. A bit of an homage to the two X’s, who basically taught me how to cook.

The Galbi is always the problem. There is only one place that cuts beef that way, and the question is always how much to buy. Nothing at Bisson’s is cheap. But if you are going local and organic it is the only game in town.

A strange little game I played this year. Always putting residual cash from my wallet at the end of the month and any change I got on a day to day basis in the “savings jar.”

I’m at about 1200 bucks right now. That all goes into my “Fly” account. At this rate I can start flying again around the time I am not allowed to fly again. Gawwd I need a job!

I sound like I am complaining, but truth be told I am pretty content right now. All bases are covered. I don’t have to leave the condo if I don’t want to.

I just checked my bank account and found three charges I can’t account for. I called the 1-800 numbers listed. One told me they were closed. The next one rang endlessly. The third rang ten times and then said “Test Complete.” I guess I will be going to the bank tomorrow.

The folk sent me a wreath from LL Bean. Pretty cool, except I have to spritz it with water every day. Nice in a way, because when I do, the Balsam Fir smell just jumps right out.

Photobucket


=bernard= December 06, 2016

I love the smell of Balsam Fir. Around here you can't even get a Balsam Fir tree for Christmas any more.

Deleted user December 07, 2016

I save change and small bills too . I have for years .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.