OMG: Culture in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Dec. 1, 2016, 6:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay… this is judgmental as hell of me. I should feel bad. But I don’t. Because…

PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTY DON’T KNOW WHO ELPHABA IS!

Seriously… I just heard a room full of “Native Professionals” at the DHS Building debate whether the Wicked Witch of the West ever had a name other than Wicked Witch of the West. They all agreed that it was probably “Margaret” since Margaret Hamilton played the Wicked Witch. FINALLY someone suggested a google search on a smart phone… if anybody had a smart phone. Luckily someone did. And they looked at the word and set the phone down and said, “Apparently she does have a name, but I don’t know how to pronounce it.” And they passed the phone around trying to pronounce it… none of them getting it right.

I get that this outs me as a snob. I’ve been a snob for most of my life. Because, in this instance, I take “snob” as a compliment. Snob meaning: one who actively and passionately attempts to broaden their cultural horizons. Sweeney Todd, Cats, Phantom of the Opera, Starlight Express, Jesus Christ Superstar, Avenue Q, Wicked, Hamilton, Jersey Boys, and on and on… and that’s just musicals. Live music and plays and other culturally enhancing activities are… just… so damned important to me.

Seriously. I was horrified and in shock at the reaction of this group of women who could not figure out Elphaba.


Rhapsody in Purple December 01, 2016

did the wicked witch have a name before the Wicked book? If they aren't aware of the spin off, then it makes sense that they wouldn't know the name.
Musicals is only one aspect of being 'cultured' and its not for everyone. And even with a passing knowledge, its not always possible to know about every musical.
I'm still waiting for people to get my If/Then references, but i don't think its a musical most people know about.

Pickled Duck Lips December 03, 2016

I just saw one of those Meme things on my Facebook yesterday. It asked, something like, "We know where the yellow brick road led, but where did the red brick road go?"

Sure enough there was a picture of the original movie showing the yellow brick road, and I never noticed that intwinded with it was also a red brick road.

Someone told me where it led but I don't want to give it away.

How cool is a movie like that, which can still have people discover new things about it a gazzillion years after the original release?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.