My Hypocrisy in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Dec. 1, 2016, 3:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am staring at my desk; which I thoroughly WANT to clean and am READY to clean… but my boss called with… well, something that makes me want to not clean and instead use the paperwork littering my desk as fire starting material. For anyone in the mid-west you’ve heard the term before Hog Confinements. Typically, this becomes a controversial matter. A County Board of Supervisors wants the Hog Confinement Lot to raise revenue and the Department of Natural Resources tries to block the Hog Confinement on Environmental Grounds. That would be in a normal county. I do not presently LIVE in a normal county. My boss called and rambled about 7,000 gallons of hog manure being dumped onto a field… she read it in the local paper. Somehow, in ways she never told me, this connects to the Board of Supervisors who now wish to rescind approval for two new Hog Confinement Lots. The DNR says they Hog Confinement Lots still have the go ahead. So, as I understand it, the DNR says there is no environmental reason to prevent these Hog Confinement Lots. The Board of Supervisors “just doesn’t want them.” (Proving once again that I think this board honestly wants this area to die!) WHY is my boss calling me about all of this? Well… the Board of Supervisors wants an attorney to draft something to help them get out of their obligation and they want an attorney to be present at their next board meeting to give them legal advice. My boss doesn’t want to do it because she says it would take too much time to research and she has no idea what to even do to begin to address the problem. So she calls me to tell me I need to do it.
alt text

So… you don’t know where to start and you don’t know what anybody wants; but you want me to go ahead and take care of it? What the shit, woman? I’m e-mailing “Abby” everything I have and just asking “What do you think they want?” But… mother fucker this seems ridiculous. Seriously seriously ridiculous. (1) The Board won’t get us a new County Attorney. (2) The current County Attorney isn’t doing her job. (3) The Board is playing fast and loose with statutory requirements imposed upon them by the state. (4) So now this is my mess? What the shit? I understand that this kind of thing goes on in bigger areas… I’ve lived in those areas. In every job shit rolls downhill and eventually it becomes a Low Man’s job to clean up the mess of Higher Echelons. But… in a bigger area… one assumes there would be other attorneys… like, for instance, even Private Attorneys who I could contact. As it is, I’d have to contact an attorney 40 miles away in a different county and try to explain to him what was going on and see if he could (out of the goodness of his heart) help me out. All because County Attorney is senile and stressed; Board is corrupt and unprofessional; and County is dying rapidly.

If I haven’t said it lately:
alt text

High School Questionnaire: Senior Year

The year?
2001-2002

Did you know your spouse?
Nope. They were already into their Senior Year of College by that point.

What kind of car did you drive?
Blue Buick Century named The Bria after Han Solo’s blue tear drop shaped ship in A.C. Crispin’s The Han Solo Trilogy.

What kind of car do you have now?
2009 Maroon Honda Civic named Laira after the Green Lantern who became a Red Lantern then went back to being a Green Lantern right before she died.

It’s Friday night, where were you?
Home. Or the movie theater. Or at Red’s playing video games.

Where did you work?
Throughout most of High School, I worked in a grocery store but Senior Year I started working in a 20 Screen Cineplex

Where do you work now?
(REDACTED) County Assistant Attorney

Were you a cheerleader?
I was not. Not strictly speaking. But I did shout for my team mates.

Were you considered a jock?
Certainly not!

Were you in band/choir?
I was in Orchestra and Theater

Were you a nerd?
Nerd denotes intelligent and, sadly, I’ve often appeared more intelligent than I actually am

Can you sing the fight song?
Yes but that is because we stole Notre Dame’s fight song

Where did you go for lunch?
Cafeteria when I was dating psycho ex; quiet park when not

What was the full name of your high school?
Valley High School

What was your school’s mascot?
Tiger

If you could go back and do it again, would you?
Upon the condition that I was not required to keep the timeline in tact. There are certainly things I believe I could change that year that would make me, and the world at large, a better place.

Do you still talk to the person you went to prom with?
Senior Year I went to prom with a gaggle of girls. I don’t speak to any of them anymore, but some of them are Facebook friends with me

Are you planning to attend the high school reunion?
I went to the 10 Year, don’t know about the 15 year.

Are you still in contact with people from high school?
Certainly. Some in real life! But if we count Facebook alone… of a Graduating Class of 567 and a school size of 2,239 I am still in contact with.... 40 of them. Which REALLY puts things into perspective… as I live in a town of 1500 people now… and don’t know as many as 40 people… smaller area, less friendly… certainly holds true.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.