Scratchy Subject in Scottish Meanderings

  • Nov. 24, 2016, 5 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It would be reeeeeally nice if - just for once - I could just be ill you know? Just be able to lie there wilting like the proverbial dying swan and drop off if my body needs to WITHOUT 3 cats swarming all over me and 25 interruptions at the door ......

Ok 25 might be a slight exaggeration.

But worse - much worse - I DO NOT want to be wilting in my bed WHEN THE WINDOW CLEANER COMES!! And that's what almost happened yesterday.

He kind of comes at random times and if I sat and worked it out it probably follows a pattern of several weeks in between but obviously he has to work against the weather so I can't really predict when he's coming. Most of the time it doesn't bother me but yesterday, in bed and trying to ward off a horrible chest infection, I kept getting prevented from dropping off to sleep by either the cats bugging me or the doorbell going.

I'd already seen in my e-mail that some books I'd ordered for Christmas were being delivered that day so I'd stuck a post-it note (it was too late to reorganise redelivery) on the front door and told the postie to leave the parcel on the top step. I live in a cul de sac and my front steps have the advantage of being fairly out of sight of the main road so that was fine. And he did. Except - possibly needing a signature (the post-it wasn't a clue??) - he also rang the bell. Just as I was dropping off.

Half an hour later - almost at the drop off point again - the doorbell went once more. Stamps from Royal Mail this time. But they plopped through the letterbox. So that was okay.

Third time lucky.

At that point Snarf appeared for his breakfast. Normally he's right there with the other 2 when I come down in the morning but every now & then he obviously has some other Very Important Business to attend to (like chatting up some other neighbour no doubt) and doesn't appear until around lunchtime. This, of course, was one of those times.

So I tried again.

And I was just heading nicely into unconsciousness and drowsily wondering what that slight banging noise was which sounded pretty near when I suddenly shot out of bed realising the sound was the window cleaner cleaning my front upstairs windows!! Oh God the near-shame! Lying in tatty jammies right underneath my picture window with horrible bed hair, a crumpled bed and unable to do anything but wave weakly and blow my nose or something to show there was a reason for being in bed at one o'clock in the afternoon.

Luckily I sleep at the back of the house.

I do believe there is someone up there looking after me on occasion.

So I had time to hide in my bedroom and then switch to the front bedroom when I heard the ladders being moved round the back and thus the game of cat and mouse played out until he was done and his little payment slip popped through the letterbox.
Peace. Finally.


So I ordered it. And it's come as you can see.


But unfortunately the old one is still here.

So far Instant Neighbour has rejected it. And the British Heart Foundation has rejected it. No-one on the free part of Gumtree is interested. I contacted SACRO where I used to work and which ran a supported tenancy project - they were always looking for furniture etc when a tenancy was being set up so I thought that they might be interested. Nobody's got back to me. Another organisation called 'Someone Cares' said they couldn't tell much from the photo so to arrange a pick up then their drivers could assess it. I have a feeling that that will be a no as well.

I can understand if it's going to be put in a shop for sale but I would have thought if it was a choice between a comfy seat with a few cat scratches and nothing at all there would have been no contest. Apparently not. My last resort will be to pop into the Recycling Centre nearby and speak to the guys who work there. They're always on the lookout for a bargain and you can hardly get out of your car nowadays before they're all over you to 'help' which really means 'what have you got and can I make use of it/sell it'.

But this flummoxes me.

{Picture of label on settee not found}

I've never seen it somewhere visible before - normally it's underneath the item in question. If I come to sell or get rid of the sofa in the future that label needs to be on it - if I just present it along with the label I could be accused of taking the label off something else. So I'm not really sure what I'm going to do about it. Suppose I could stick it on the bottom something. What do you think?

And I am now, of course, completely paranoid about the whole scratching business. That purple spotty throw on the floor beside it has been on it since it came - it stretches quite tautly over it but they're still able to sleep on top at night so that's fine. But it doesn't cover all of it and they've scratched it already. AND THE ONE WHO SCRATCHED IT WASN'T THE ONE I THOUGHT WAS DOING THE SCRATCHING! I was horrified when I saw Snarf sneak round the back and give it a quick scratch and Willow was sitting there quite innocently beside me on the floor. So they're both at it. There's no hope. I've taken down the cat scratcher and plonked it between the 2 sofas pointedly but nobody seems to be taking the hint.

Except for Bailey. Who, of course, is perfect.



Last updated January 09, 2018


Camdengirl November 24, 2016

I love the sofa!!!!
Yeah - my cat would make quick work of that with her toenails though!

Marg Camdengirl ⋅ November 25, 2016

:)

Sabrina-Belle November 24, 2016

I love that sofa. I know what you mean about cats. It doesn't matter what you provide them with they prefer to destroy the furniture!
I have to admit that if I am ill I close the bedroom door and ignore any knocks at the front door. My problems are when I am on the computer which is downstairs. The cats are constantly asking to come in or go out, people come to the door with parcels my sons have ordered (Chris doesn't even live here any more but gets his parcels delivered here because he is out all day!) and then there is the phone, always someone trying to sell me something rather than someone I would actually like to talk to.
Have you tried Freecycle for the old sofa? It's an online group where people put up things they don't want and others ask for them. We found a home there for a sofa that had broken springs at the one end.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ November 25, 2016

Oh yeah - Nikki does that too (she used to live here) - drives me mad! I don't have a landline - just the mobile - so can see if it's a sales call as it's usually sitting beside me so if it is I generally ignore it.

I forgot I hadn't tried Freecycle - I was thinking I had because I had done the Free part of Gumtree - I'll pop it on there - thank you!

ODSago November 24, 2016

ODSago November 24, 2016

It's not only cats; when my son was teething he chewed the four corners off of the square arms of our sofa in the family room. They were gone! Life does seem busy at your place as I read this. I need all the windows washed here...lovely to think of that happening without fail as the seasons change. Sort of.

Marg ODSago ⋅ November 25, 2016

Goodness your son must have strong teeth!

blackpropaganda November 24, 2016

Now it's a job that just suits me
A window cleaner you would be
If you can see what I can see
When I'm cleanin' windows

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ November 25, 2016

Nice one George!!

elaine2 November 24, 2016

I once read that if you want to give something away but nobody will take it, put a really cheap price on it and advertise. The problem, of course, is not knowing who will show up at your house.

Marg elaine2 ⋅ November 25, 2016

Haha!

NorthernSeeker November 24, 2016

We have wide streets here and we can put things curbside. Inevitably someone will come along in a pickup and take the old furniture. Your blue couch looks pretty good compared to some of the offerings that people pick up. Willow and Snarf already after the new couch? What cheek. I would wait for them to go to sleep and then wake them up...let them know how you felt today after so many interruptions.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 25, 2016

You should see W&S when I have to go to bed during the day for whatever reason - the looks I get as though it's their bed and I have a cheek moving in it! Bailey just sleeps at the bottom and never bothers me except to say hello every now & then.

history of love November 26, 2016

I am in love with your sofa. It's beautiful!
Oh yes. Sofas. I had a corner leather one and ok, it was a bit bruised and scratched but still useable. Nobody wanted it so I got the council to pick it up for £20. A bit of a waste but there is is.

Marg history of love ⋅ November 28, 2016

Seems crazy doesn't it? SACRO have now got back to me and are willing to take it so hopefully it will find a home now :)

^..^Kat December 14, 2016

Your new sofa is absolutely gorgeous!!! I am completely envious.
I have cats too and none of my furniture goes unscathed. I just accept it will happen and move forward, even though that first scratch on new furniture causes pain. :) I refuse to declaw them, so I live with it.
Still drooling over that sofa.

Marg ^..^Kat ⋅ December 15, 2016

Thank you! I think that's what I'm going to have to do as well to get any peace of mind :) At the moment it's being covered with a huge spotty throw to try and save it at night (the cats are all shut in downstairs at night) but I'm tending to leave it on during the day as well if I'm on the computer upstairs or out and realised the other day I'm hardly getting a chance to see the thing!! I think I just have to bite the bullet and relax. I'm with you too - no way are they getting declawed - it's not their fault!

edna million January 09, 2017

OoooOOOohhh, you got the sofa!!!! I LOVE it, and it looks great there! Weird about the tag- maybe you could staple it underneath? And really annoying about the cats- I wish I had an answer to that one. Actually my dad has a cover on a sofa and armchair in his house due to Simon and Maddy scratching them when they were still there, but that's no solution for a new fun sofa. Although I have heard of little tips you can put on their claws, so that might be worth checking out - I used to get a pet store catalog Dr. Something and Something, that carried them.

I HATE HATE HATE being woken up like that over and over when I need to sleep!

Deleted user January 15, 2017

Cats ! My leather sectional has scratches all over it and I refuse to buy anything new until I can figure out how to stop them from ruining more furniture. I read they hate the smell of Vicks Vapor Rub so maybe secreting some of that on every piece would help . I wonder . Also supposedly they hate the smell of citrus oil.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 16, 2017

At last! Some practical advice lol! Although I don't know if I fancy my sitting room smelling of Vicks but the citrus oil may be a possibility. I had a sort of air freshener spray which I sprayed the sofa with but that didn't make any difference. This poor piece of furniture still sits with a huge spotty throw over it all day until I come to use it at night (I very rarely sit in my sitting room during the day) - it's such a shame!

Deleted user Marg ⋅ January 16, 2017

I think I would try the citrus oil ...

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 17, 2017

I'll give that a go! Thingbis I don't want something completely repellant as I want them to be able to sleep on it at night. And Willow's bed is right beside it. I need a bigger house!! :)

Deleted user Marg ⋅ January 17, 2017

Me too ! Can you move the bed ?

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 18, 2017

No unfortunately I have a really tiny sitting room and there's no other place for it to go :( I think him and Snarf take turns between the bed and the sofa.

Deleted user Marg ⋅ January 18, 2017

My cats sleep everywhere !

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 21, 2017

Mine do too but I shut them in at night downstairs (otherwise I'd have Willow asking for breakfast at 3 a.m!) so they have a more limited choice there :)

Marg Deleted user ⋅ January 17, 2017

That should be 'Thing is'!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.