Mac versus Windows pc? in Scottish Meanderings

Revised: 11/22/2016 7:19 a.m.

  • Nov. 21, 2016, 1:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have various dilemmas which are stopping me writing a proper entry in here in that they're taking up writing time so I thought I'd ask for help with one of them.

My PC is dying and has been dying for the past couple of months wasting huge amounts of time - thankfully I had the iPad and iPhone so have been getting by on those. I was pretty sure the time had come to look for a new desktop but I popped it into a repair shop I've used before just in case it could be resurrected and paid £48 for for them to install Firefox which I'd told them I'd already tried and which hadn't made any difference. I also told them I'd run Crapcleaner and that hadn't made any difference either. When I got it back I was told as well as installing Firefox they'd got rid of junk which was clogging it up so I assumed that would have been a bit more than me just running Crapcleaner. It was also said it's on its last legs like I thought and if it gets worse I would probably need to look at getting a new machine.

The problem is it whatever they've done hasn't made the slightest bit of difference. It's like I got exactly the same machine back. I intend to return to the shop or e-mail them to let them know this but how do I prove it's not any better unless I take the tower in and set it up with them watching? I can't get parked in front of the shop very easily and it was bloody heavy to cart it across the road (they don't do house calls). The reason I used them was because they were very good at spotting a problem I had last time without having to come to the house (I had the pc plugged into a surge protector and they advised me to plug it straight into the wall socket). On that occasion they still had the pc in and took a look at it but realised it was working fine in the shop so deduced it must be something about the way it was set up. They weren't going to charge me anything but I was so relieved at having the problem solved I insisted and they took a tenner for the advice - hence me thinking they might be trustworthy for repairs in the future.

So that's one problem. If anyone's been in a similar situation I'd welcome advice.

Next thing is - if I do end up having to buy a new desktop do I go with a Mac or Windows pc? Macs are generally more expensive but I've discovered there are mini Macs which are within budget - they don't have a monitor, mouse or keyboard but I have those so that's not a problem. I've been on comparison pages this afternoon discussing both kinds of pc but I'm still no further forward.

One of the things I like about Apple is that if anything goes wrong it's pretty easy to get the right support fairly efficiently which would save the above situation happening again. They also seem to be less prone to viruses which I like the sound of. But otherwise it really seems to be down to personal usage preference so I thought I'd ask on here because I've definitely heard people praise Mac computers in various diaries over the years. Our dear Patrisha was one of them and she was in her eighties which impressed me!!

So let me know what you think if you've tried both or if you have any strong views either way.

Edit: So as of today (22nd) there are 5 folk for Mac and 5 for Windows pc - drat! Methinks I'll just have to go into the Apple shop and try out a MiniMac - see what it feels like - and avoid all shop assistants. Since there are several hundred of them in each shop I think that might be a tad difficult :)

Last updated November 22, 2016


Deleted user November 21, 2016

I think it comes down to what you're using the computer for. I own both, I like MAC a lot more than Windows. My MAC needs to have the operating system updated (truthfully I'd rather just buy a new one), but it's 7 years old and starts up and runs just a quick as they day I bought it. I've always had issues with viruses on PC, never had any issues with MAC. The only downfall I've seen is with my parents desktop MAC, when they needed to have some issues taken care of they had to send it out to Apple and it took a few weeks to get it back.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ November 22, 2016

Is that because they can't get it to a shop or did they insist that it had to be sent away? I have a shop locally which I can get to and that, I must admit, is a big plus in my book. Any problems I've had with my iPhone have been sorted out very quickly and efficiently.

Deleted user Marg ⋅ November 22, 2016

They insisted it had to be sent to Apple. But then again this was an issue with the hard drive, so maybe it was too complicated for the average repair shop. Even then, my parents and I have had so few issues compared to the PC's we've owned.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ November 22, 2016

Ah right. Thanks for the info!

simple mind November 21, 2016

If you have an iPad and iPhone, you'll get seamless integration with a Mac. That's a big plus. That being said, you definitely pay more for less. I think Windows PC builds are getting better and sleeker, while Macs are regressing. Seems like Apple as a company has drifted off course since losing Steve Jobs. Just an example - I think the Magsafe power connectors on the Macbook are one of their best features - it's magnetic, and if you trip over the cord or something, it will just pull out instead of ripping your laptop off the desk and on to the floor. But Apple is getting rid of that, like the headphone jack on iPhones. Pity, really. Anyway, my two cents. :)

Marg simple mind ⋅ November 22, 2016

I did think of the integration aspect although it's not a big deal I have to admit. Your view appears to be what I was generally coming across - thanks for replying - I appreciate it!

Deleted user November 21, 2016

I prefer MACS. Much less to deal with and built in virus protection.

Deleted user November 21, 2016

If you take your MAC to an Apple Store they will usually fix the problem immediately and for free!

Marg Deleted user ⋅ November 22, 2016

That was a big plus for me - any problems with my iPhone have been fixed quickly and efficiently.

Deleted user Marg ⋅ November 23, 2016

Me too !

elaine2 November 21, 2016

Apple is too proprietary for my taste. And now, with the way they are treating customers who have the "touch disease", I think they are going to lose customers.
When you get your new computer, you might want to download the free Microsoft Security Essentials and set it to stay on all the time. A school board tech recommended it to me, and I have used it ever since. Another idea might be to leave your computer on and have it run a scan every night at midnight or so.

Marg elaine2 ⋅ November 22, 2016

Thanks for the tips!

Deleted user November 22, 2016

I love Macs, but the one I have was built in mid-2007 and Apple no longer offers software support for these older Macs. I use a laptop PC most of the time because I can't afford a new Mac. I have this old Toshiba netbook built around the same time as my Mac and I was able to upgrade it to Windows 10 with no problem and it works just fine, but it's slow, simply because they didn't have the faster processors we have today. My primary computer is an ASUS laptop which works just fine. I haven't had any of those blue screen errors since I purchased it 18 months ago. You can get some good buys on Windows laptops. The one drawback with laptops these days is most of them don't come with built-in DVD/CD drives and you have to purchase a peripheral DVD drive if you want to use CDs or DVDs. But I use OneDrive to store all my files and don't need a CD or DVD drive to burn files to. Most desktops come with DVD drives. I still think Macs are better computers overall.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ November 23, 2016

Ok thanks for your input! For some reason I've never got on board with a laptop and much preferred a desktop and one of the versions of the Mac Mini is affordable at the moment. That's an interesting point though about support not being offered for older software.

NorthernSeeker November 22, 2016

I'm a PC user...I bought a tower and it uses Windows 7. A lot of my friends are having a horrible time with Windows 10. That being said, my daughter has had terrible luck with an Apple notebook.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 23, 2016

Oh no! Thumbs down for both! What sort of problems is she having? Have Apple been ok sorting them out?

Lady of the Bann November 22, 2016

I love my iPad and rarely use the Windows 10 PC. Jo my used to work for Apple for a while before he went on the ship. He loves all their stuff and has a MacBook Pro.

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ November 23, 2016

That's useful thanks!

Robbo November 23, 2016

Have you considered building your own PC? There's a Youtuber named Austin Evans who does great tutorial videos on how to build a PC, and there are plenty of other channels covering the topic. There's also a website called pcpartpicker that shows builds at various price points, provides an itemized list for all the items you need for each build, and provides links to where you can purchase the items online. I know building a computer sounds like a daunting task, but I promise doing so is easy, and you'll get a much better value if you build one instead of buying one. I did it, and I was certainly not an especially tech savvy person.

Marg Robbo ⋅ November 24, 2016

Thanks for the input - I understand what you're saying but no I'm struggling with what I have to do in my life now as it is so I really need something already built and ready to go asap. Are you using Windows on your pc?

Robbo Marg ⋅ November 24, 2016

Yep. Windows 10.

Marg Robbo ⋅ November 25, 2016

Dammit! The poll was at 7 each - yours and another's comments have just tipped it to 8 each lol! :)

ODSago November 24, 2016

I love mac, have used both (work had a pc) and since 1992 have had macs. So intuitive.

Marg ODSago ⋅ November 25, 2016

Well your comment has tipped the balance - it was at 7 for each before that. I'm meeting my sister for lunch today in the shopping mall where the Apple shop is so perfect chance for a browse of the Mac Mini!

edna million January 09, 2017

Very interesting discussion, although being late to the party I see you have already made your decision! Which I think is a good one. I just had the very same quandary-- my laptop, a Dell, is around five years old and getting slower and slower- and I never did like it that much. Mark, who hates laptops and has a Dell PC, shocked me by saying I should just get a new computer, and he would use my old laptop (and try to get used to using one, as he would find it useful for work). I had sworn I'd never get another Dell because I've had problems with my current laptop and the prior one too. But everything I read said Dell has really improved, and it's really either Dell or Mac for quality. Long story a LITTLE shorter, I bought a Dell Two-In-One, thinking it would be great to have a laptop that would double as a tablet because my IPad mini that I adore is also old and that way I wouldn't have to update it too. Turned out the Dell was awful, the keyboard didn't work half the time. I returned it and ended up getting an iPad Pro, the 9 inch one, because suddenly they are apparently the equivalent of real computers as far as computing power, and I really really loved my Mini-- and really wanted something very portable. I LOVE it - I also got a little keyboard case (on Amazon for way less than a Apple one) and it's just like having a teeny little Mac. I actually put it in the keyboard case to type this note since it's so much easier than typing on screen!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.