A letter to her in The Present

  • Nov. 20, 2016, 12:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dear you,

I have tried very hard for the last 2.5 years to be the bigger person, to show grace and maturity, to be understanding. During this time, I have tried to embrace you, your friendship, and your friendship with my husband. I did this because it was what he wanted, what you wanted, what I though I wanted,and what I thought was the most Christian thing to do.

I have absolutely nothing against you personally; perhaps if this situation had not gone down as such, we could have been friends. But it did, and unfortunately, you represent something very painful and hurtful to me. I have a very difficult time getting past that.

I have been putting others before myself for so long, I didn’t even realize how much damage I was doing to myself. I’m coming to terms with this in all aspects of my life. I’m tired of being unhappy and feeling like a shell of a human being, so I’m attempting to examine all parts of my life and fix what I can control.

It’s true that initially I thought our friendship was beneficial to me, and maybe it was. Or maybe I only thought that because it was my way of fitting into the scenario set up between the two of you. In hindsight, though, I see where I have been damaging my psyche over and over again.

I feel bad doing this right now; you have a terrible road ahead of you with your physical recovery. I don’t want to you to feel at fault for me feeling this way, even though I know you will.

We’ve all said our peace with regards to the situation, and I’ve forgiven both of you for what happened. But now I need space. I’ve been putting band aids on wounds that require many stitches. I need healing, and unfortunately, I’m not sure I can get that if we remain in contact. I wish you the best in all you set forth to do. Maybe, eventually, I’ll feel comfortable reaching back out to you, but for now, I just can’t.

I have not sent this (nor will I), but it feels good to get it out.


Deleted user November 20, 2016

I used to do this. Write letters just to get it out but not send them. Glad it helps.

WizeArtWorx November 20, 2016

It's amazing how cathartic it can be to just get these thoughts out, isn't it?

You seem like such a kind person, and while I don't know you personally, I hate seeing anyone suffer with something like this. Now, obviously I don't know her, either, but I have a serious problem with women like that. Regardless of emotions, if someone you like is with someone else, you have to learn to respect that- I've been cheated on a good bit during my life, and I don't understand how people can just have such a disdainful lack of respect for that!

I really hope you and your husband manage to rectify everything and find your way back to each other. You deserve happiness!

:)

Nope. WizeArtWorx ⋅ November 20, 2016

Thank you. You are very kind.

Ferret Mom November 23, 2016

I hope writing this was therapeutic.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.