Seventeen in NoJoMo 2016

  • Nov. 17, 2016, 5:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I accidentally had a second prompt for my trip to Georgetown.

That happened, and I described a bit of it yetsterday.

Takeaways I didn’t cover yesterday:



    • I don’t understand Shake Shack. My wife was very excited that there’s one in Union Station in DC. Once again, I got a chicken somethingortheother, fries, and a beer before getting on the train. I don’t know if there’s a more emphatic “meh” that I can muster. It was okay. I tried my wife’s burger. Same. This was one of those things I’d missed. I mean, there’s worse places to eat, certainly, but I just don’t get the fanaticism.

    • The neurologist I saw said I have an odd speech pattern. I don’t think my speaking style is much different than it used to be (and hasn’t changed because of the MS). My cadence was definitely affected by being on the radio all those years. Maybe it’s odd-sounding; I don’t know.

    • Uber is tough for those of us who don’t see very well. I guess we were trying to get into the wrong Mazda at Georgetown. Oops. I apologize.

    • Saints at Panthers tonight. I’m kinda okay with the Thursday Night games at this point. I do realize that it probably fucks up teams’ schedules pretty severely. It also fucks up planning for....

    • Fantasy Football. I do appreciate the folks who’ve joined the K-Gun Memorial FFL. Sarah, Stu, Missy, TMac, et. al.. It’s been fun. I do wish there was smore more discussion on the message board, but, then, there’s only so many times you can laugh at Cowboys’ fans, and the Ryan twins.

    • Snapping out of the fantasy, hwoever, I do really enjoy some of what I’m seeing happen in the league this year. I’ve rooted for the Redskins for over twenty years now, but I don’t hate the Cowboys. In fact, I would still argue that Tom Landry was the best coach in NFL history. The Cowboys’ style of play this year is exactly the sort of football I enjoy. Same goes for the Raiders, Iggles, and Lions. Even the Saints have come home to quality football, perhaps in spite of Payton and Brees. The Air Coryell/43 combination still works.



With those out of the way, what else do I have to say....?

I’m trying to keep an open mind about the electoral results. This, really, could be real change in Washington. Notsomuch due to the Trump surrogates’ bigotry, but because at least it’s a completely new crowd.

Regardless of what happens, it’s not going to be an administration full of recycled Ford and Clinton folks (which is what we saw with the last two administrations). If an opportunity presented itself to get me to DC to work in the Administration, I don’t know that I’d turn it down. (Though they probably would want nothing to do with me after I didn’t vote for them.....)


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.