Do you hear me? in The First Life

  • Nov. 15, 2016, 2:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Goodness....

I dreamt of you last night. First time in a long time. Saw your face the closest I have seen it since April of 2014. I could reach through you if I wanted to.
You’ve stuck with me all day. I can’t shake you when I feel you like that. Every part of me wants to reach out, but I don’t.

Do you hear me? Are you ever there? Do you ever look for my words and hope you’ll find yourself in them? I look. I hope I’m hiding in the corner of some song you wrote. I hope I’m articulated in your dreams. Still. Still, I creep back. I can almost feel what it was like. Have you found that? Are you happy? I’m sure you are.

I cannot write how I once could. I’d disguise these feelings and make you work to find them. But you are not here. You are not looking for me.

On days lIke these. I just want to reach you. I want to talk like we did. Feel like we did. I want you to slip up and say something we know you shouldn’t. I want you to text me at 3am, because you’ve had a couple drinks, and you have something to say.
I feel like you feel me on days like these. Like I can talk to you, like you feel this. The other end of this wire is alive....buzzing under all of the growth.


Last updated August 21, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.