Patrisha in Scottish Meanderings

  • Nov. 11, 2016, 11:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel sad today. I've just seen Jake's entry on Patrisha's diary.

For those of you who don't know who I mean Patrisha has been a diary friend for a long time going back to OD days and I know she was also a friend of many of my fellow diarists on here. In latter years her entries have been shorter but regular nevertheless and I know many of us looked forward to her often inspirational entries - sometimes this year with relief if a few days had gone by without an entry. We've seen her struggle just a little bit more this year with continuous ill health and it looks like the latest episode she's gone through has been the most serious and affected her mentally.

Many of us have said in here that we feel closer to each other than some of the people we see in real life and it's often so hard to get people in our 'real' lives to understand that. That's why I wanted to come and share my feelings here today - because I know you guys will get it.

I'm really going to miss her.

Deleted user November 11, 2016

I saw his entry too and can hardly believe it . She was always so vital but this latest bout of illness must have been too much . It's very sad.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ November 11, 2016

It is. I'm so glad I can share the sadness on here though :)

^..^Kat November 11, 2016

I miss reading her, she's a friend of mine on Facebook as well. It seems to have happened so abruptly. :(

Marg ^..^Kat ⋅ November 11, 2016

I think the last thing she had was something which seemed to affect the brain - I remember reading up about it when Jake mentioned it and I was really worried then about what I was reading. It's so sad though.

Deleted user November 11, 2016

I didn't know her, but I know what you mean about people here being so close on Prosebox and before that, OD. It is sad when someone passes that we've known from Prosebox and OD.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ November 11, 2016

I kind of feel bad about writing about her as though she has passed when she's still alive but from what her son said it doesn't sound like she's able to write any more. It's a funny relationship we have with each other isn't it - difficult to explain but I'm glad we have it nevertheless!

elaine2 November 11, 2016

I have read her entries for a long time now and been impressed with her intelligence and insight. She has always kept on fighting. I hope she has enough of that spirit left that she can come back to us. She is a special lady.

Marg elaine2 ⋅ November 11, 2016

I hope so too but I know when you're in your eighties it's much more difficult to get over things and rally round and this last illness she had sounded a lot more serious than what's gone on before.

hippiechica15 November 11, 2016

I think I used to read her as well back on OD. Was her partner Fred, and did she live in Vermont? If so would you mind linking to her PB in a note? I lost touch after the move to PB. Search function is not working for me.

Very sad to hear she is not doing well. I have many friends dear to my heart from OD.

hippiechica15 November 11, 2016

And I found her, but thank you for writing or I would not have known! <3

Marg hippiechica15 ⋅ November 12, 2016

No problem although I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad news!

ODSago November 11, 2016

I was so grateful to Jake for writing and letting us know. It's not the outcome any of us want and my heart goes out to her and to Jake.

Marg ODSago ⋅ November 12, 2016

Me too - he must be going through so much just now - it was lovely of him to think about us in the midst of that.

Sabrina-Belle November 15, 2016

I do remember Patrisha and I was wondering what had happened to her. It's so sad when these things happen but good that Jake has posted to let people know. Sometimes people just disappear and that's awful.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ November 16, 2016

I know. Another diarist on my Friends list is in knots just now because that's happened to one of his Friends :(

edna million December 02, 2016

Oh, I'm so sorry to hear this- I didn't actually know her well, but she was friends with so many of my friends, here and on FB too, and I also remember Fred's entries.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.