Twitter in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Nov. 10, 2016, 7:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

(I’ll be more active tomorrow with some stuff but on a different note)
The “Preferred male height” according to a study of Dating Websites is 5‘10 to 6‘2. As someone who is 5‘7… and grew up with 5‘7 Tom Cruise being the focal point of dozens of “He’s so short!” jokes… as opposed to Prince (5‘3) or the late Kenny Baker (3‘8)… this is continuing aggravation.

How does height affect perception? How about this… I had a co-worker at Best Buy who had been 6‘2 since he was 14. He was an okay guy but his face was… not good. Pock marked, bad teeth, poor hygiene. He and I were friends and we compared life stories. He had never been rejected by a woman… ever. After hearing my story (actor, smooth features if somewhat hawkish back in the day, loads of rejections)… he wanted to know if it really was his height that had aided him so much. So face pictures; who was preferred.... I was. Full body pictures with something nearby to establish height… he was. Girl’s (at least where we grew up) certainly see the Short Guy as less favorable.


Deleted user November 10, 2016

Everyone is taller than me . :-(

Fawkes Gal November 11, 2016

I don't think it's fair to say his being tall was what made him never have any rejections. Is he a nice guy? Confident? Friendly? Funny? It's a pretty big leap to just assume he's never been rejected because of his height alone.

I like short guys, personally.

Foofah November 14, 2016

I always preferred and was attracted to men that were taller than me (I'm 5'8")...then I met Joe who says he's 5'7", but I think he's 5'6". Initially, I liked him but was apprehensive about dating a shorter person than me. This was more because of my self consciousness regarding being as tall as I am (tallest in my family). Either way, I'm glad I went outside my comfort zone and height would never be a concern of mine again if I were to be back in the dating scene.

Rhapsody in Purple November 17, 2016

I'm a 6' tall woman. Multiple men told me they were into me but wouldn't date someone that tall.

I watched a movie the other day called Up for Love. Its about a man who is 4'5" as he tries to court a taller woman. its about about that notion of prejudice against short men, and the preconceived ideas we have about what our partner should look like. I think you'd like it if you get a chance to see it. Its french.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.