NoJoMo10 & More in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Nov. 10, 2016, 11:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As disappointed as I am in Trump’s win and as truly fearful as I am for people… there is something worse. At last count 8 trans-youth killed themselves yesterday because they interpreted Trump’s victory as confirmation that the world hated them; that there was no place for them. At last count, there are countless stories of non-whites being openly harassed yesterday. My least favorite was an East Indian friend at a convenience store. His parents came to this country shortly after they were married. He was born in this country. He is, in every respect, as American as you can get. And yet as he was filling his car with fuel; a group of white youths threw a soda can at him and shouted “Time to go back to your own country, asshole!” Well… this is his own country. He has a birthright to it. He grew up here. He excelled at the cello, mathematics, and debate while attending American Public School. And that is just one story. There are thousands if not millions.

Meanwhile, this morning I denounced the thousand (or more) people who voted for Harambe. I stated that as a country, we need to listen and tolerate our political opponents because we have to live with them and understand their political ideals. But I said it was shameful that thousands would vote for a dead gorilla. Because it is. If you can’t take voting seriously, skip it. And an argument ensued. Because (apparently) there is no difference between voting for Clinton, Trump, or Harambe. And this is the kind of shit in our country that I have no time or patience for. I believe in Freedom, sure. But I also believe in responsibility. This bullshit lie that freedom means “freedom from consequence and responsibility” is a gut punch to the true meaning of Freedom. “This is America, I can vote Harambe for President if I want to” is a childish thing to say and do. Honestly, I don’t care if you wrote in your father, your mother… anyone of legitimate age, species, and qualifications. To write in a deceased, meme-spawning, 17 year old Gorilla… really pisses me off. And there is a professional attorney saying that I’m spreading hate by saying it is okay to be pissed off at these people. To dismiss their motivations. And that upsets me beyond the ability to form words. I’m spreading hate because it pisses me off that of the less than 50% of eligible voters who bothered to vote, some of them put Harambe? For fuck sake. If you want to do a protest vote… YOU CAN WRITE THAT IN. But I’d be upset for people writing in “Batman” or “Wolverine”, too. And apparently, I’m the bad guy for being pissed off about it. This. Fucking. Country. Now, I’m just… boiling over a little. If you voted for Trump because you hated Hillary, I can understand that. If you voted for Trump because you thought he’d be good for the economy, you’re wrong but I can understand your motivation. If you voted for Trump because you want minorities to be afraid of the US, it pains me but I can understand your motivation. If you voted Harambe because you were pissed off at the choices for president… you’re a child throwing a tantrum, congratulations on your accomplishment.
alt text

NoJoMo10

Tell us about your life as a reality show.

I’m not entirely certain why the prompt is worded the way that it is. Is the prompt saying “What if your life was a reality show?” or “What kind of reality show would your life be?” I’m… not quite sure what the prompt means, to be honest.

I mean… if a reality show were made of my life… I suppose it would be a “Survivor Type” show where you collect people of varying “City Boy” lifestyles, plop them down in the rural-ist of rural areas; assign them jobs randomly (with no regard to actual skill set) and tell them that after a few months, elimination votes will begin.

Tell us about your life as a reality show.

BTW- a few final thoughts. I find it odd that this year has largely been a year of struggle, pain, feeling lost, and feeling hopeless. And now there are millions in America who are feeling the same way with the election of Donald Trump. Truly… these last few days have been like watching the Country experience the emotional descent I went through over the last 5 months. Certainly it does nothing to ease their pain or mine. But I do find it interesting.

Also, last night it was well put. NO not all of America is as racist as President-Elect Trump seemed to be. Many people voted for him for many reasons. But it is like buying a car. If you buy a Volvo for its safety features; but that car also comes with a Cassette Player… you can’t be shocked when people point out the anachronism and associate it with your car purchase. Just as, if you voted for Trump because you wanted Conservative Supreme Court Justices… you can’t be shocked when people point out the hideous racism and sexism and associate it with your vote.
At the end of the day… THIS is what Anti-Donald Trump advocates need to consider. Conversely, THIS is what Trump Supporters should try to understand.
And yet… just from my experiences this morning… it seems this world does not wish to approach or discuss any form of understanding. We have truly reached a point where Pop Psychology created a problem. Pop Psychology promoted “Emotions matter” as a pounding drum. In many ways, I’m glad. Emotions are important, should be understood and considered. BUT we’ve reached a place where “emotions matter more than anything else.” I’ve heard “I’m angry and afraid, so my actions in response to that are justified.” No. As nice as it may seem to live in such a simple world; that isn’t true. You’re emotions are valid; they should be heard and you should feel safe to express them. But your ACTIONS cannot be solely tied to your emotional content. If the entire world behaved as Emotion over Thought; we’d find ourselves in a crumbling world where debt and conflicts raged, where peace wasn’t even a consideration, and any form of advancement was strictly the province of the Feel Good market as opposed to the Meet a Need market. Oh shit. We’re already there.


Deleted user November 10, 2016

I personally thought the Harambe votes were hilarious. Takes a certain mindset to even consider voting for a meme that pisses people off by its very existence for reasons they can't even rationally discuss and it cracks me up.

I'm not shocked that everyone who votes for a Republican gets called racist. Been going on since the 1960s. Not really a new phenomenon. Just different characters.

Deleted user November 10, 2016

That Harambe shit is INSANE. I don't even know what else to say about it. It's so disrespectful and not at all funny.

So sad for those kids who have killed themselves... man. Just. Fuck.

Deleted user November 10, 2016

Those are some awful stories.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.