NoJoMo9 & Shock in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Nov. 9, 2016, 10:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Shock. I am in absolute shock. And around me there is celebration. The community where I live is celebrating the election of Trump. My father is celebrating that “godless liberals” didn’t gain power. And facebook friends are trying to rationalize their decision by saying saying “It was a referendum on politics as usual.” Except… no it wasn’t. In my state alone EVERY incumbent won re-election. EVERY. SINGLE. ONE. So, in other words… America is mad at the government… America votes TO KEEP EVERY SINGLE PERSON IN THE GOVERNMENT THEY CLAIM TO BE MAD AT… but America chooses The Hateful Cheeto to “send a message.” I’m sorry, America. The only message that you sent was that Sexual Assault, Xenophobia, and Hatred are considered values in this country. Because if you keep the same government representatives… you haven’t done a damned thing about the government you claim to be mad about.

Allow me to clear somethings up for people.
There is not going to be a wall. The wall wouldn’t protect against illegal immigration anyway but even if you didn’t research the topic (or live through any of the Berlin Wall) and just thought “Yeah, a wall is a great idea!” I am here to tell you it will not be built.
The economy will not improve in such a way as to give jobs to those who lost their livelihoods. First of all, the stock market TANKED when Trump was elected. So the money isn’t there in the private sector right now. And going forward, all economists that have analyzed Trump’s economics plan have said it will end up costing a few million jobs… not creating. Also… to the people in my community celebrating that their choice for president won… he’s not going to help you in any way at all. He has stated and announced many times that he thinks “Poor people are losers.” So you elected a President who has already written all of you off. Congratulations. You get what you deserve.
As to National Security? Trump talked a big game about China… all while openly getting in bed with Russia and while paying Chinese companies and businesses. Trump doesn’t even pay the American people who build his buildings; but he has no trouble giving money to China for raw materials.

What happened last night… the government was given the power (again) to do whatever the hell they want. Because nobody in the government got fired. The President became a man who allegedly raped a 13 year old girl… a man that has consistently targeted everyone that isn’t a straight white male… and a man that has directly threatened to compromise the First Amendment if made President. Oh… and to my Xenophobic “hate the foreigners and minorities” Community Members… did you forget that President Trump’s First Lady was foreign born? So you’re an idiot. Or is it okay because “at least she’s hot?” My god. I get the feeling that the world is now looking at all of the United States in a similar fashion as I look at Up North County.

And still… what I find the MOST galling about any of it....
Iowa voted for a man with no experience, no civility, and no substance. Because they wanted “To Make America Great”. AND YET every incumbent Down Ballot won re-election. There goes any remaining faith I have in my countrymen. If you don’t like where we are, don’t vote for the people that got us here. #Heartbroken ( It honestly confuses me that there has been all this complaining that congress isn’t doing anything, and then the same people win again. )

2016… a year that saw my Wife and I move to a worse situation… saw the death of David Bowie and Prince… Brexit… Syrian mass killing… a rise in Police Ambush/Executions… the Cubs winning the World Series… and now Donald Trump becoming President. With less than two months left in the year… this year can either get better or get worse. At least personally. The year will improve dramatically if (a) a skilled and willing County Attorney is hired before the end of the month; or (b) I get hired to a job in a better community that can actually help me grow. But the year could get worse if (a) Ren is selected for County Attorney as it steadily looks to be the case; and (b) I have no options to fall back on. Ball is in your court Universe, God, Powers That Be. I sincerely just feel like… 2016 has kicked my ass, taken everything from my spirit that it could, and convinced me that my ever present hope for better may simply be a childish coping mechanism.

NoJoMo9

Write a letter to someone in your everyday life that you usually don’t notice (barista, janitor) and thank them for making your life a little easier. Bonus if you actually give them a handwritten letter. Even more awesome if it goes up on social media.

Unfortunately, as I have mentioned before, there ARE no people in my everyday life. I live in a Ghost Town with no life, no businesses, no nothing. Honestly, I would PREFER IT if there were Janitors or Baristas or individuals of SOME KIND but there aren’t. So I can write no letter. And if you think I’m exaggerating… this County is full of older people; older people who vote. And yet there were 2,000 ballots for the entire county. 2,000 for an entire county. This place is an empty, desolate, isolated waste.

Write a letter to someone in your everyday life that you usually don’t notice (barista, janitor) and thank them for making your life a little easier. Bonus if you actually give them a handwritten letter. Even more awesome if it goes up on social media.


Timmy™ November 09, 2016

I like the joke that if we kicked out the immigrants, who would build the wall?

absolut lilith November 09, 2016

I'm in shock, too.

But I've lived in NC almost my entire life, and I think as a country, we all experienced the Jesse Helms effect when it came to the polls leading up to election day. People who actually voted for Trump were too embarrassed to say they were going to vote for that orange turd sandwich. So they were ashamed of their vote, but did it anyway, knowing what would happen. So fuck them. And fuck anyone who was registered to vote and didn't, but still sits there and complains.

Amaryllis November 09, 2016

I understand why people are angry - my husband, parents, brother, and most of their friends are Trump supporters - but what I don't understand is how they think he will live up to his word of changing these things. He showed his lack of intelligence and lack of any coherent plan in the debates. Just...what.

Deleted user November 09, 2016

I want to try to think this will not turn out as badly as we all expect . That it doesn't go badly also depends on us , we are not powerless. The fact that the country is in the shape it is reflects the general apathy of most of the population and while we whine, we do little to change anything . Most do not even understand the basic way the government works.

Deleted user November 09, 2016

Amen about goddamn 2016. It has been such a bitch of a year.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.