Nine in NoJoMo 2016

  • Nov. 9, 2016, 6:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Are you satisfied with the results from yesterday?

Yes, things are all out-of-order with my prompts. My scarred brain is more than a little scattered with all that i’m dealing with right now.

So, on the results yesterday, I’m very surprised. Am I disappoint? Yes. Would Hillary have been a complete disaster as President? Absolutely.

If her campaign can take any solace as they nurse their hangovers this morning, they did convince me not to vote for Trump. (As if that would have taken much, but....)

The really cynical side of me screams something about Trump’s tax returns, but I’m bored with that (and have been for weeks).

Am I surprised/ Yes. Perhaps even shocked.

Same, too, with what I thought was something unwindable for the Republicans – Senator Ron Johnson. While the hipster progressives were focused on Christine O’Donnell, to me, the real story of 2010 was Johnson beating Progressive fan favorite Russ Feingold. I can remember many touting him as an ideal Presidential candidate in the middle of last decade (you know, not long after people like Stuart Smalley were elected.

After he lost, Feingold went away for six years, only to run for his old seat back this year.

Largely against the prognostications, somehow, Johnson won re-election yesterday.

In some ways, that shocks me more than Trump’s win.

As for my votes, I was zero for four. I expected that. Am I disappointed by that? No, not really. As I wrote yesterday, I expected that.

Going forward, it’ll be interesting to see what happens in Congress. There’s not enough in the President Elect’s coloring book to point to any specific things he’ll be championing.

So, I’m surprised, but how the two parties deal with will determine their futures. (I’d be okay seeing both disappear, myself.)


Deleted user November 09, 2016

I am very happy with the results! No more Obamacare!!!!!

unimportant November 10, 2016

I don't know what to think... I voted for Trump just because he's not Clinton, but I am not exactly jumping for joy to see Trump as president. I am pretty disgusted that these two were the best candidates we could come up up with, out of the entire country.

^H unimportant ⋅ November 10, 2016

You live somewhere that it's not that big a deal; the Republican, even if he was Satan, is going to win there.

Here in something that's marginally a "swing state," I have to be a bit more careful with it. As I said, Hillary convinced me not to vote for Trump, but did nothing at all to make me want to vote for her. I do enjoy my hipster Democrat friends being all upset that I didn't vote for Clinton. Uhhh, you know she won Virginia, right?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.