NoJoMo 1 in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Nov. 1, 2016, 9:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tell two lies and one truth, but make them so believable as to confuse your noters.

(Lie or Truth 1)
When I was a kid, probably around five years old, I met Tom Arnold at a Celebrate Iowa event. Honestly had no idea he was a celebrity. At that age, you’re just so used to your parents introducing you to random adults… and it isn’t like I had really seen anything that Tom Arnold was in… so I just shook his hand and said, “Nice to meet you” and moved on.

(Lie or Truth 2)
This is a little embarrassing but it comes up a lot at family get togethers. My parents, my brother, and I were doing a family vacation/tour of the Pacific Northwest and were riding one of those shuttle boats that carries people and cars. I was spending almost all of my time that vacation reading and the boat was no different. Until everyone started crowding to one side of the boat. I ran to my dad and asked what was going on and he said there was a whale in the water. I looked and looked but couldn’t find it. We have video of this and the video perfectly captures it… I couldn’t see the whale, turn around to face my dad to ask “Where the whale is” as it swims behind me. Seriously.... embarrassing.

(Lie or Truth 3)
One of the reasons that it is so hard for me to write stories and scripts and the like is due to past experience. In High School, the members of The Drama Club were encouraged to write scripts for the rest of the Club to perform. I was nervous as hell about it; but I finally finished a script after a year of writing. When I turned it in for consideration, I was told that it was 100% Awful. The dialogue was unbelievable, the monologues too long, and the characters were broad and undefined. I argued that part of the need for stage craft is broad characters that can be defined by the actors and the setting; but I was told that I simply had no talent and should stop wasting my time.

Tell two lies and one truth, but make them so believable as to confuse your noters.

What d’ya think? Were my lies believable enough to sound like a truth? Can you tell which one is a truth?


Deleted user November 01, 2016

Very believable but I think the last one was the lie :-)

hot-lips November 01, 2016

Oohh...this is hard. I have no idea which is which. Number 2 or 3 is a lie I'm going to guess.

Deleted user November 01, 2016

I think Numbers 1 & 3 were the lies! Muahahahaha!

Foley is Good! November 01, 2016

I would pick 2 & 3 as lies. Being math-minded I'd go with the most likely scenario to be true

Not seeing a whale combined with perfectly timing your turn around to the whale swimming is less likely than unknowingly meeting a celebrity you're not a particular fan of

Also a high school student being told their work was 100% awful would be less likely. Whether a class or extra curricular club, a young student has to be given a slightly positive feedback for their work. Anything less than 100% :P

Plus I've ran into and met a celebrity I am a fan of and did not recognize him. So makes it that much more likely to me, haha

Have a Nice Day!

woman in the moon November 01, 2016

I am left-handed.
I can sing.
My teeth are not my own.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.