Recycling in Summer 2016

  • Oct. 29, 2016, 8:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Working through prompts, and still have six days where I need a topic.  Maybe I should juggle a bit, and throw in some free-write days.

Hmmm....

Better, I suppose, than writing fuck you letters to a few people who richly deserve them.

I spent a lot of time last night thinking about the elements of forgiveness.  Should I forgive?  Can I forgive?  Will I ever forgive?

There’s a few I can’t.  Thankfully, a couple of those are in Federal-Pound-Me-In-The-Ass Prison.

One I probably shouldn’t.

One I might be able to, but have no will to at this point.

One of the prompts I’m going to recycle is something from 2010 about relearning things.  I’ve had to do that a lot more lately.

This is what I wrote back on November 20th 2010:


Have you ever had to re-learn something that used to be second nature?

Yes, I added this as a suggestion. I’ve had to re-learn many things, and still haven’t gotten the knack of all of them. What I had in mind when I left this was running. Since my latest MS flare, I cannot run at all. When I was in bad shape last spring, I could barely walk, really. Since then, my gait is almost normal, but I can’t run at all, really. My feet get tangled up.

It’s kind of incredible when you actually think about everything your body does to run....the signals being sent to your brain to make it happen. For me, that includes signals your feet send every time they hit the ground.

Imagine trying to run when your feet are asleep. My feet feel like that all the time.

Still, there’s been other things that have been affected.

clutch

Early on there, driving was difficult.

clutch

Oops, caught the brake with my toe....

Some more even basic life functions were and are still out-of-whack.

Some days if I give myself my shot in the wrong place, my diaphragm doesn’t work.

breathe

I’m penciled-in for physical therapy in a few months to learn how to jog again. While all this has let me lose a lot of weight, I do want to be able to effectively exercise. Right now, I can’t.

And then the stuff below the waist. I mean, I was potty trained by like three. Urgency, make it to the bathroom on time, then can’t let go.....

 


I never did learn to run again.  My eyes wiped out driving.

But there’s other things I’ve had to re-learn.  I’ll write about them next month.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.