https://youtu.be/GGHnYD2y-44 in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Oct. 26, 2016, 1:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Court Day today. Bad day.

I woke up this morning and the world was pitch black and rainy. I think that makes it out of my 206 days in Tiny Town… at least 134 have been dark, grey, and rainy. That isn’t a joke. I would definitely say this place has had more rain, more cloud coverage, and less sun than any other place I’ve ever lived. Whether that is an oddity of the YEAR or an oddity of the LOCATION, I’m not sure. But boy does it make sense.

Got to work. Instantly greeted by Cecilia looking pissed.
She had just gotten off of the phone with Boss. Boss doesn’t plan on disagreeing or standing up to the Board in any way at all. Her exact words were “Whatever they want to do, I’ll support.” You incompetent, useless hag. You don’t give a shit whether this county, the county you plan to continue to live in, has an acceptable County Attorney? The fuck is wrong with you?

Then I got notice of a Motion to Dismiss Due to Police Negligence. Goody… another detailed, involved legal document that I will need to teach myself how to respond to… without legal research. Hoo… fucking… ray. SO tired of this non-functioning cluster fuck hell hole.

Got into court. Usual Suspects mostly. The same people that are always there. This time willing to plea (yay) but only to suspended sentences. And considering that the Sheriff is changing soon as is the County Attorney (and likely me) I said fuck it, why not?

Though… there was a surprisingly attractive young woman as a defendant today. Young, stylish, bright… a teacher! So (of course, no surprise) she lives outside of the county and was visiting friends just across the county line when she was drinking alcohol and then got into a car crash that caused significant property damage.

Meanwhile… I have received zero phone calls about my abundant plethora of applications that I have sent out. Zero phone calls. Likewise, the online job postings have become even more scarce. To the point where I genuinely considered applying to be a Night Clerk at a Battered Women’s Shelter… because (1) at least it would get me out of this county; and (2) I could still do something where I am trying to help people. It makes me sad. I’m a 32 year old man with a strong proven work ethic who has a High School Diploma. a Bachelor’s Degree, and a Juris Doctor degree. I worked for 2 years at a grocery store, one year at a movie theater, a few months in a costume shop, a few months as a Team Lead for a guerrilla marketing campaign, 4 years at a shoe store, 4 years at Best Buy, 4 years for Department of Corrections, and have been working for the last 7 months as an Assistant County Attorney… how is it that I’m so undesirable and so un-hirable to locations in functioning parts of this state? That sounds whiny. I’m sorry. It is just frustrating.

And what’s worse… the situation translates into a potentially horrid possibility. If the Board honestly hires someone who is even less willing or able to assist me in this county… I’m going to have to resign. It would be the only honorable, ethical thing to do. I’m not going to sit by and allow my potential legal career to be devoured by corrupt, unethical people that wouldn’t loan me a dime let alone help build a functioning department. So… while I refuse to be destroyed by these people… resigning with nothing to turn to… even if it did allow my Wife and I to return to a functioning City… it puts a lump in my throat and a knot in my stomach. I didn’t go to Law School to become The Most Educated Arby’s Manager Ever. I didn’t spend that much time and money to become The Wal Mart Checker Attorney. But… really… honestly… unless there are some pretty big changes in the next few months… that possibility begins to look more and more likely.


coffeemate October 26, 2016

My employer hires attorneys to work in employee relations and compliance as well as our legal department. I would assume other corporations do as well.

Deleted user October 28, 2016

You need to leave there one way or another. The situation is too stressful .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.