Entangled in General

  • Oct. 25, 2016, 8:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

When you’re asleep they may show you
Aerial views of the ground,
Freudian slumber empty of sound.

“A Trick of the Tail” was the last time Genesis actually had a guitarist. After Steve Hackett left they kind of muddled through with Mike Rutherford filling in with guitar, even though he was the bassist. They filled the gaps with synthesizers. Of course that is around the same time they started getting a lot more air play.

Somehow I got substantially behind on doing laundry. So that has been a part of my day today. I have 22 towels, so I wash towels about every 11 weeks. Normally Sunday is bed sheets day, but my folks invited me to dinner, including a pickup of my daughter with 2 hours notice.

So. I finished watching “The Shallows” - great flick, but not for the faint of heart unless you have a weakness for Blake Lively.

Took a shower, picked up the Bean who was oddly compliant. Drove to ‘Salem’s Lot. Had dinner. Lasagna. I had two pieces. Mom made a Tollhouse Pie that I am seriously afraid to make because I would be eating it all the time.

My semi-famous uncle was there. When he came in, I was talking to my younger sister about the chili I wasn’t making because, you know, my plans for the day take second fiddle.

My uncle walked in, and from the kitchen - where Deb and I were standing - I said “I can’t hear myself think!”

She replied “I wonder why.”

Dude was a DJ, back when DJs were “Radio Personalities.” I have a fairly booming voice. But this guy can knock out windows.

Family dinners are alternately fun and tortuous. Three separate conversations all happing at the same time.

So I took Beanie home, then came home myself. Napped briefly on the couch. I never really sleep anywhere other than in bed. I can doze, but it is never as satisfying as actual sleep.

Waited for The Walking Dead season premier.

Brutal is all I can say.

Today was the job search, laundry, haircut. Doing my civic duty and voting. Glad to be done with that.

Closing in on bedtime. I try hit the rack by 10PM every night and be up no later than 630AM. Kinda hit or miss.

Oh! Before I forget. I received two more set of 1800 count Egyptian cotton sheets. In the package there was a flyer that said they were doing a inventory clearance. 4 sets of California King 1800 count sheets for a hundred bucks. But I don’t really know why I need to have 12 sets of sheets on hand.

They are out of the mid-south somewhere. I haven’t been disappointed yet. Just Google “The Sheet People.”

Photobucket


Deleted user October 25, 2016

My kid advised me to skip this first episode :-)

=bernard= October 25, 2016

And thank you, Hillary will be so grateful for your confidence in her.
Just a little sarcasm pal. :)

Firebabe October 26, 2016

It takes a braver soul than I to google something like "The Sheet People." LOL.

Duke Firebabe ⋅ October 30, 2016

Heh. When my dad first sent me the link, I was all "I don't know about this." Nice sheets though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.