Those Days in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Oct. 20, 2016, 9:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good morning, one and all, and welcome to The Circus of Life.
This morning, my first hour of the day was receiving notifications from judges and attorneys telling me that the things I had been working on (surprisingly with no assistance or aid from anyone) were all wrong and that I needed to get them right and resubmit. Have I mentioned lately that being Assistant County Attorney with no assistance is a giant pain in the ass?!

More Fun: I have to prepare a Jury Trial solo right now. That is/should be my day. Trying to figure out (a) how a jury trial works; (b) what I need to submit for a jury trial; (c) informing individuals that will be necessary to give testimony that they need to appear for a jury trial; (d) pleading with Christ that, “Okay, you haven’t gotten me out of this shitty situation. Can you at least help me out with this trial? Just… help me find the information I need when I need it?”

Seriously… whether a man goes to jail is in the balance. Whether a man with 3 previous OWI convictions is allowed to keep driving drunk is in the balance. And I’m basically “feeling my way around.”

This County is a fucking prison. On Planet Horseshit. In the galaxy of this sucks camel dick.

Seriously… in a country that relies on Laws so much… it should offend every tax paying citizen that there are places like this in the Country. Places where law is dealt with as though it were an after thought. A barely professional, semi-important endeavor vaguely meant to protect the rich and powerful from those either too inebriated or inept to challenge the system that keeps them beholden to those who wish them ill.

Yeah. I’m beyond ready to leave this county. I don’t mind working in a field that isn’t respected. I do mind working in a place that actively earns that disrespect.

UPDATE

Brilliant. And just now? I got a phone call from the Judge (and the Jailer) asking me to correct my boss’ paperwork. Boss’ case. Boss was required to file something. She filed the wrong thing. They called her and she said “she’d get to it when she could” even though they need the paperwork on file before 1 p.m. today. So they called me asking me to write the paperwork so that they could do their job. REALLY STARTING TO FEEL A LITTLE FORSAKEN BY GOD HERE! Though, I’m sure many would simply say I’m being overly dramatic.


Last updated October 20, 2016


Comfortably Numb October 20, 2016

Toxic situation, man. That stinks.

Deleted user October 20, 2016

Your boss is a joke .They needed to fire her a long time ago. They might as well give up trying to act like they enforce the law there . :-( What is wrong with peope that administer that county ?Are they all corrupt and stupid ?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.