Black's Law in BookThree: Flight Log 2016

  • Oct. 18, 2016, 8:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am very tired today.
And in not so great a mood.
Really, just feeling pretty seriously misanthropic today.
In other words… Bernard Black from Black Books. But in Lawyer terms.
Which is funny because Black’s Law Dictionary is the go-to-standard of Legal Dictionaries for the profession. Which makes me want to film a pilot called Black’s Law that is essentially Black Books but in a lawyer setting.

This reminds me of the last few nights. Wife and I are catching up on good movies we’ve heard about. It is important to note here that neither she nor myself have EVER seen these movies. One was a Horror Movie, the other a Detective Story. Both movies were good. HOWEVER, within the first ten minutes of both films… I paused the movie, outlined what I thought was about to happen in the film, and proceeded to be proven correct. One was a standard Possession but Who is Possessed/What is Evil motif. The other was a neo-noir Los Angeles Private Eye with Hollywood caseload multiple murder story line. BOTH of which I had successfully plotted out after the first ten minutes.

I should be a TV writer. Or a Film Writer. But to break into that business (like every other business) you have to know someone. And… whatever talent I may or may not have in writing… I sincerely lack in creative originality. Which is a shame.

Because… if my “talent” is to perfectly predict movies… it seems like that is something I should be able to turn into some kind of a job. I just… how?

Which brings me back to Black’s Law. I would love to film a pilot; but the pilot episode would simply be an episode of Black Books with various changes… taking it from British to American; a Book Store to a Law Firm… characters would be re-written…
Bernard British Show: Irish slob and drunkard running a book shop; but he hates people.
Manny British Show: Stressed accountant who goes to work for Bernard in order to relax.
Fran British Show: Knick Knack shop owner next to Book Store, long time friend of Bernard Black.
Bernard Black Black’s Law: American lawyer with a drinking problem; been in law just long enough to hate every single client-type imaginable.
Manny Black’s Law: Fresh new associate desperately looking for a Firm to work in; a bit over eager and clearly spent more time studying than living.
Fran Black’s Law: American Accountant whose office is across the hall from Bernard; long time friend of Bernard.

So… the idea would be stealing… in a sense plagarizing… but I could do it. But… like everything in life… I’m stuck on the “How to make money” of it aspect. And money matters. Those who say it doesn’t don’t understand. If you’ve had money your whole life… and then don’t have money… it is a crippling thing. If you’ve never had money… you may have learned to be happy, but trust me… the comfort and support money can provide should not be overlooked. And if you’ve always had money and never been without… you can’t say money doesn’t matter because you may not (yet) realize exactly what “Purchase Power” can unlock.

So… not surprisingly… that is where I am today. Tired, 100% not wanting to be here… and in a strange twist that means I don’t want to be in the office, I couldn’t care less about being back home… and wrestling with that great existential beast whereby we Examine the need and value of financial comfort against the need and value of emotional stability.


hot-lips October 18, 2016

A lot of life is all about who you know, unfortunately! I find a lot of films these days predictable, Hollywood finds a good storyline and churns it out over and over in various different settings and themes. lol

Deleted user October 18, 2016

Write !!! Then try self publishing but keep your day job for now . Of course money is important and writing on the side can supplement your income .

Comfortably Numb October 18, 2016

Your life in SmallTown would be a good TV show. Not so much to live it, but maybe as a black comedy.

Rhapsody in Purple October 22, 2016

A fair chunk of American television is British television that has been adapted to American audiences.
Have you seen the show Episodes? It's about a British writing team who go to LA to adapt their show. Very amusing.
A lot of people are being discovered online these days with people creating their own content and then getting actual television shows out of it. Although it's hard to promote a script online unless someone is acting it out. But you have the acting experience.
I think it's definitely something you can work on while you have your job.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.