somebody to want me in 2016

  • Oct. 17, 2016, 1:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

3:33pm

Well, the weatherman said it was going to rain, and the EAS issued a flash flood warning several times this morning [interrupting my tv show!], but we haven’t seen a single drop of rain.

Yesterday, we were just hanging out at the house watching movies when we decided to go to CHL for dinner. We hadn’t been there since late August so it was about time. There wasn’t much else to do anyway and who turns down an opportunity for drinks/dinner? Not this girl! ;)

The drive was so nice. I mean it was sunny where we were but the clouds were all so amazing off in the mountains! Spectacular stuff! Plus there were little sections where we’d drive through and a sprinkling of rain would hit the window. Even a sprinkling is exciting for a Californian these days!

We got to the restaurant a little early so we drove over to the store and started noticing that the ground was wet. By the time we left and drove back to the restaurant it was sprinkling again. We even dramatically ran into the restaurant because you know, Californian’s also confuse sprinkling with pouring rain. hah. =P

It was cool though. The usual bartender wasn’t there but the guy that served us was nice. I was a little worried when he asked what kind of tequila I preferred. They never ask and I know that’s typically a way to upsell you. I don’t care enough to give some snobby answer on fancy tequila. I thought he’d give me whatever they usually make, but I knew it was different the moment I tasted it. Totally thought it was going to be super expensive but it wasn’t much different than the regular one in the end. Also, I had three so it was good enough to drink. ha. Whatever. It was fun!

Shortly before we left a couple walked in and sat at a table across the room. I thought I recognized them but wasn’t sure. I sat there thinking about it for a minute and realized the girl was one that came to the office earlier this year and ended up sitting around talking to us for a long while. She was nice. The kinda girl I might actually be friends with if we ran in the same circles [technically I don’t run in any circles around here so that’s tough. heh]. Anyway, as we were leaving I tried to make eye contact to say hi but she was clearly avoiding. Acting like she was looking at something on the guy’s phone but who doesn’t at least glance up to look at people walking by? It was like she was trying to force it.

When we got to the car I thought that maybe I’d placed the guy as one who also comes to the office and just recently got a divorce. Totally not sure on that one. I kept thinking I knew him through JR, but I can’t match his face to anyone and for sure I’ve seen him before. The office is the only other place so I don’t know. We’ll find out eventually, I’m sure.

I was joking with TF yesterday that I was going to go out and buy my own drink. He didn’t really react to that and instead told me he’d just finished skinning pigs because he’d had hunters that morning [he’s some kind of hunting guide? for like his ex’s family…]. At the end I’d asked what his favorite drink was so that I could have one for him but he never got back to me. If I didn’t know that he lived out in the middle of nowhere with no cell reception I might be annoyed when the responses stop coming, but it’s not a big deal.

He got back to me around noon today. I had just walked back to the couch [another movie day!] and it buzzed as I was about to sit down. Weird timing. He asked what I’d had for him and I said I’d never heard back so I skipped it. He immediately apologized. I told him that he didn’t need to apologize because I skipped his and had another one for me. That I’m more independent that way. haha.

Then a little while ago I was messing around on the computer and I heard my phone start to ring. I glanced over expecting it to be my brother [he’s been calling a lot because he’s bored] and then I saw that there wasn’t a name with the number. I have yet to save the new number. I scrambled to get up off the couch, you know because mom was sitting next to me. I think I said “uh oh” out loud and she guessed it was TF as I walked away to answer. I came into my room and pushed the door behind me. Gotta have your space right?

He hasn’t called me in weeks so that was unexpected. He did the typical, “Hey!! Rose!!!! What’s up???” He’s always so enthusiastic. haha. He said that he was driving and thought he’d call to talk. I made a joke about how he’s calling me because he’s bored and he said that no he calls his mom when he’s really bored in the car. hah. I almost compared him to my brother, but had the sense to hold back.

We went on to talk for like 20 minutes, which is crazy. It did not feel like that long, at all. Probably a good thing, right? And you can learn so much on a 20 minute phone call. Like more than an entire week [month?] of texting.

We talked about drinks last night. I told him where we’d gone and he said he goes there all the time with his son. We talked about the weather and this non-existent rain. About his job and how he’ll get busy if it does actually rain. He asked me what I was doing this week and I laughed and said, “well, speaking of that crazy schedule of mine…I’m going out of town again.” Of course his response was like, “AGAIN?! Where are you going now?” So I went on to tell him the plan. I said that I was going with my mom and we were visiting my uncle and brother. I think he said he was going to plan to stand me up again, or something, but now he couldn’t. Laughs.

There was also talk about music. Turns out he likes stuff like old school country, hip-hop, classic rock, punk rock, some “indie” stuff, etc. All good. I can handle all of that. He never straight up mentioned rap so we should be safe. haha. It all came out because he said something like “let Jesus take the wheel” [I don’t remember in response to what? Maybe about figuring things out w/us? I was going to ask if he believed, but I went w/the music angle instead. We’ll save God talk for later.] and I laughed about him quoting country songs. He insisted she was country/pop and I made fun of him liking pop music, but yeah mostly I wanted to know what he listened to so that worked out ok. I shouldn’t dread being stuck in a car with him. ;)

Also, we talked about hanging out again. He kept saying something about how “we’d have to meet up somewhere” and then brought up these rules I supposedly had. Like: we wouldn’t be able to sit in arm’s length of each other, we’d have to take separate cars, and I don’t know what else. I told him that I never gave him any of those rules. That maybe that was the problem! He was making up all these random rules that don’t exist. I joked about having to sit at opposite ends of the bar and waving at each other. ha. Then I said that I’d at least sit at the same table as him!

I told him not to wait too long. That after January I basically didn’t exist. He insisted that he wasn’t going to wait that long. That he’d “surprise” me and I’d be happy about it. Then he said some stuff about how he was working out. That he wasn’t really in dating shape and that he was working really hard on it and that I’d be surprised? I don’t know. I said that he didn’t need to do that. It doesn’t really matter. I mean, I already know what he looks like. This isn’t like our first meet based off of old profile pictures. hah. He started saying something and then goes, “oh really” in that excited tone of voice like I’d just complimented him. I said that I wasn’t giving him a compliment, or trying to hit on him, I was just saying that it wasn’t a big deal. That I didn’t want to make his ego any bigger.

[sidenote: uh? … what am I supposed to do with that kind of info though? Like is he trying to be better because of me? Because yeah, that’s kinda scary. Should I be working out? Maybe I need to go on a diet? I think I need to hit a gym. lol!]

We’d previously talked about how we needed to find a place to hang out and it couldn’t be in town. He said there was no where to go and I said that it wasn’t just that. It’s the fact that he knows half the town. He said he knew the whole town and that I probably did too. I said that the difference was that I kept a low profile so they don’t know me. That I didn’t want to get that rumor mill started being seen with him. He started to say that yeah that would be bad, etc but quickly caught up and said that everyone would actually be saying how lucky I was. How good looking he is, and what a nice guy he is, so on and so forth. I couldn’t stop laughing. Said he was very humble as well. He laughed and blamed his mom for always telling him how handsome he is. That his self-confidence was so low and he was so shy that she had to tell him all the time. We agreed to blame her. Wait until she finds out. haha! Hence the keeping his ego small comment later.

I guess he was on his way to his sister’s house. He’d spent the morning with his brother and his nephews played football along with his son. I guess they’d had a bunch of games today. And that they were going to get together at his sister’s for an early dinner.

Then he asked me how old I was. I laughed and said that I’d been waiting to see how long it would be before he asked and insisted he wasn’t supposed to ask me that. He said that only mattered for women over 40. Then he started guessing, which made me curious. He started guessing mid-20s and then moved it to late-20s so he wasn’t too far off. I finally told him the truth and he said that maybe I knew his sister A. I asked if she went to school here and he said he didn’t know what last name she’d used and said maybe it was “blank”.

And holy cow! I am almost positive that she’s the girl we just saw at CHL last night sitting in the bar!! Like 98% sure that’s her! Such a weird coincidence. I did not know they were related at all! I hadn’t made the connection, but wow. That was weird. Of course I didn’t say anything to him. When he said he didn’t know where he was going with that subject I joked that he was trying to find out if she knew me to start asking her questions about me. He said he’d never do that. Uh huh. [Actually he doesn’t seem like the type who’s going around talking about me to people, so he probably meant it. I wonder if she’ll mention CHL last night and he’ll make the connection though!]

Anyway, around the “don’t wait too long” comment he was saying that he couldn’t do that because then someone else would come in and take me out. I said, “you never know.” He did that thing that everyone always does and said there were probably a line of guys beating down my door. I mostly laughed. Because obviously not, or I’d be out there. haha! He doesn’t need to know that!
It might have been around this same time that it came up about going out with someone for a free drink. We all know I wouldn’t say no. ha. And he goes, “I knew you were that kind of girl!” lol. Duh! ;)

He also warned me that he was crazy after we were joking about something. He said I could run and I don’t know what else. I said that I’d already warned him about me so it was fine. We were even now. That might have been when the drink comment came out. It’s hard to remember now.

I know there were a lot of other little things that came out, which is hard to believe in such a short phone call, but it was good information! I’m glad it happened this way. Honestly I could use more phone calls like that. Even if he calls me just because he’s bored. =]

I could deal with not seeing him in person if I got a phone call every now and then. It helps to ease all the crazy thoughts about how he wants nothing more than to get in my pants and doesn’t care to know me at all. It doesn’t seem that way when we’re on the phone together.

As the call wound down he was saying that he was going to go ahead and go inside. I asked, “Are you just sitting outside in your truck!?” He said, “Yeah. I’m talking to you.” Like it was no big deal. I joked that they were all probably watching him from inside and thinking he was crazy for talking to himself. He basically said that he didn’t care because we were talking and that was that. :) Then he wished me a good time on my trip and we said we’d talk again soon.

This may or may not be the beginning of the end, but I won’t say for sure. Don’t quote me on that. I could be eating my words real soon…

rose.
9:25pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.