Who Knows... in Fresh Start...

  • Oct. 16, 2016, 1:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ok.... so I made a date with a guy from POF. Realistically it was just us meeting and having a couple drinks.

The couple of days prior to the date were just not so great. Been on an emotional roller coaster. Guys at work were teasing me and giving me hell about the date. Saying that bc I was meeting a guy at 10pm for drinks then it must be a booty call. J and M have been into it competing with each other. It started with some promotional crap and they just keep pushing each other’s buttons and vying for B’s attention and now my attention. I tell M that J said something nice to me so M says J is jealous. Then I talk to J about my emotional roller coaster privately and as soon as M gets back, J opens my office door and says he doesn’t want M thinking he’s invading his territory. It’s my freaking office. Anyways....

So I went and met this guy at the hookah bar I like to go to. I was really nervous because I’m just not good at meeting new people. When I’m nervous I ramble. I rambled a lot and quite honestly I’d be surprised if guy didn’t think I’m a total weirdo. We sat at the bar and had a few drinks. We stayed there til like 12:30 or so and he asked me if I wanted to go for a walk so I said ok why not. So he paid our tab, which he didn’t have to do but it was nice. So we walked down the street for a bit. It’s not a terrible walk and it was really nice outside. We got to the park and went over and sat on this concrete block thing. He had worked up to holding my hand while we walked and once we sat down he put his arm around me. We talked some more and I knew he was trying to work up the nerve to kiss me. He kissed my hand and was being a bit shy. I finally decided to let him. Ya know, actually faced him and gave him a good opening. He’s not terrible at kissing but he could use some work. We kissed, we talked, we flirted. It was nice to have a guy actually interested in kissing me. He was sweet and complimentary, particularly about my eyes. We kinda just ended up talking and making out for a few hours and next thing I knew it was 5am. So we walked back to our cars and said good night and it was like 6am when I got home. That wouldn’t be too awful except I was supposed to be at K’s house at 9am. I slept like 2 hours and ended up getting to K’s around 9:45am bc we were going to a book festival.

Ok… so overall… he’s a nice guy. He has a degree in history that he doesn’t use but he’s been a baker at a mom and pop shop for 8 years. He’s only 29, won’t be 30 til April. He still lives at home with his parents, but it sounds like he helps them out and he has his own car. He’s decently attractive with enough squish for cuddles. He doesn’t mind the idea of all my animals. He didn’t run screaming after my rambling. He has a lot of similar interests as K so they would probably get on well, but they’re not necessarily my interests. They both like table top games, comic books, and seem to like some similar comedians.

The downside for me.... he’s not at all a manly man. He’s pretty inexperienced at 29. He’s only slept with 3 people and hasn’t really had a serious gf. And he hasn’t had sex since 2012.... kill me now if that ever happens. To me that screams “I’m going to become instantly obsessed with/attached to you.” I’m not looking for an insta-relationship. He apparently likes poetry… I’m not into that crap really. Like it’s nice I guess but just no. He was apparently a marching band nerd that played saxophone and I guess still enjoys it? Also just weird to me. I admit I have hobbies that people think are weird like jigsaw puzzles and crocheting, but he also told me he’s working on like a suit of armor or some bullshit? I was probably not paying attention at that point.

So after all that info I feel like tomorrow at work is definitely going to be another episode of “Where do you find these guys…” The answer is I have no fucking clue. But I attract these types of guys constantly and while he’s nice and I’m giving him a chance, I also feel like by giving him a chance I may be leading him on a little bit which isn’t something I want to do. But I suppose I’ll see what happens and if nothing else there’s a guy to make out with.

Now to clean… so FML.


Last updated October 17, 2016


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.