Online Dating + Childless Thoughts in New Beginnings

  • Oct. 16, 2016, 10:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So after months upon months upon months of talking about it, I finally made an online profile. I’m not dead set on finding a serious relationship, but I realize I’ve become too comfortable in my cocoon, and I desperately need to be more social. If I find something serious in the process, great, but my primary objective is veering off the path of becoming a curmudgeon before my time.

Anyways, I decided on Match. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for, right? I even looked at online reviews of dating services, and Match consistently ranked very high. I didn’t expect finding my better half to be a cake walk, but just making contact is tough…and really confusing. I’ve gotten a lot of likes on my profile and pictures, but the few I appeared to have the most compatibility with didn’t respond to any of my replies. I didn’t bombard them? At least, I don’t think I did. I read their summaries about themselves and what they were looking for in a man, and then either paid a complement and/or asked a question about something interesting in their profiles (i.e., old TV shows they made a reference to or interesting usernames that might have hinted towards a hobby or interest).

Nothing. Of course, it’s only been a week, and logically their are plenty of possibilities why each woman wouldn’t respond, other than “this guy is as ugly as a mule’s butt and as boring as watching paint dry.” Maybe, she started seeing someone and doesn’t want to complicate things (or overexert herself) by seeing two people at once. Maybe the distance was too far. Maybe she has other plans or obligations taking priority over dating. I’m overthinking things, I know.

However, you know what boggles my mind in contrast with the women I’m seemingly compatible with giving me a wink and then silence? Women I have nothing in common with asking me out on dates! At least of couple of women conveyed an interest or flat out sent me an email asking for a date, and my reaction was “did you even read my profile?” The first girl was too young, 12 years my junior to be precise. Not that I have a problem with other 34 year olds dating a 22 year olds, but for my own comfort level, I’d like to stay within a decade in each direction. I’d probably make an exception if we were compatible by almost every other measurement. She also wanted to have children, and our values didn’t really align. The other woman was about 50 years old, and not a fit 50, either. Ugh.

I suppose what’s most frustrating are the super gorgeous girls Match teases me with. Match we’ll send me profiles of women its algorithms consider to have potential with me. Some of the girls will be 95% compatible with me, and I’ll open their profile to read “Wants kids: Definitely.” Not, “some day,” or “unsure”, or “I’ll tell you later.” “Definitely.” I’m thinking of one woman’s profile in particular as an example, and my gosh she’s soooo pretty. We’re talking super conducive to becoming twitterpated. Her profile said she was divorced, and all I could think was, “your ex husband must be blind, an idiot, or both.” There were other points of disconnect between us, too, so I’m not just being stubborn about one thing. Still, when her profile pops up among my suggestions, it’s hard not to look at her photo and let my heart race.

As an aside, I was thinking about my not wanting children, and I wonder if I’m really being nihilistic. In other words, everyone else wants them, and I don’t, so am I a horrible person? It’s just, I’ve never really wanted children. Dealing with all the grief like diapers, tantrums, sleepless nights, loss of health from prioritizing parenthood, made me want to opt out of the whole ordeal. As vain as it is, that last item is probably the biggest concern to me. I know myself. When I let myself fall out of shape, my anxiety, stress, fears, and depression take over. I guess it’s just that regular endorphin rush that keeps the ugly thoughts tamed. If I couldn’t maintain my health, I wouldn’t be the same person, and I certainly wouldn’t the same guy the mother of my children wanted to marry.

I’m not encouraged by how many of my friends had kids without my struggle and now seem to be operating at their breaking point of emotional exhaustion every day. I remember years ago after one of my friends, Chris, had his second child, he remarked to me, “You know, Rob, once you have kids, your bank account will be consistently drained, you’ll gain a bunch of weight, and you’ll be sick all the time, but none of that stuff really matters because you’ll love your kids.” I didn’t say anything, but my initial reaction was, “what was that you said about being broke, out of shape, and perpetually ill?” He ended up getting divorced years later. From the outside looking in, and at a distance (we hadn’t been in contact with one another for a while when it happened), it looked like the stresses of family and career broke his marriage.

Interestingly, enough, Chris and his wife were trying to wait to have kids, but they wanted them eventually. I wouldn’t call his children accidents, but they weren’t exactly planned. Contrast Chris with another of friend, Lauren. Lauren always wanted to have children. She wanted to:

  1. Get married
  2. Be married for a few years before she had her first child in her late twenties
  3. Have her second and final child four years later so they’d be close enough in age to be friends but far apart so that she wouldn’t have two kids in college at the same time.
  4. Do all of this while balancing her and her husband’s career

She got it. She got everything she wanted with the exception of having a boy and a girl when she kind of wanted two girls. As you can guess, she’s divorced. It was like he stresses that came with what she wanted killed her marriage. Now, she’s a little bit angry that she has to work to pay for everything she wanted and she can’t just be a full time homemaker. All I can do is read her Facebook posts and think, “I’m sorry that you’re stuck working to pay for the life you have, but this is what you said you wanted.” Also, I’ll think, “I’m pretty sure I told you how difficult parenthood would be, so you can’t say you weren’t warned.” I won’t actually tell her those things; doing so might give a conniption fit.

Seriously, though, Lauren and I used to…well…I’ll say we argued about having kids, but the discussion was much more friendly than that word suggests. We weren’t dating, partly because of that difference. She would say something to the affect of “it won’t be that bad, think of how cute they’ll be, you can just stay in shape by playing with your kids,” and so on. I remember one time, she was having problems with her boyfriend at the time. I won’t go into the specifics of their conflict, but I reminded her that she wanted kids and if the stress of comparing herself to her boyfriend’s ex was enough to cause this much strife, how would she respond to the actual stresses that come with a relationship that includes parenthood responsibilities. Her response, “But we would have a baby together, so that stuff wouldn’t bother me.”

All I could do is face palm. My point being, I don’t want to end up like her, miserable because I took on the responsibility of parenthood without realistic thoughts on the subject. Really, I stand the risk of turning out worse. She was just blinded by her instinctual feelings and naiveté. I’ve put considerably more thought into the issue, and if I wind up in the same hard spot, I can’t even blame my own ignorance. I knew what I wanted and what was best for me, but did the opposite without reason. Well, I guess having a wife to regularly make out with is a reason, but probably not a good enough reason to ignore what I know about myself.

To bring this monologue all the way back to my unsuccessful attempt at dating, I really hope my being forthcoming about not wanting children doesn’t make me undateable. I have reasons for wanting what I want (or not wanting what I don’t want, if you prefer). I think I’d make a good husband, provided she and I share that common ground. I suppose it’s best to honest up front and have the patience to wait. At least I’ll avoid wasting time in the wrong relationship.


whowhatwhere October 16, 2016

Well, just because you have kids doesn't mean you are going to turn out like that.
My husband is launching Les MIlls Sprint, Combat, and Pump tomorrow. I would guess he is in pretty good shape. I'm back to 3-4 Combat classes a week. I will do more once the baby can go to kids club.
I think the other stuff is how you approach life. Overall I don't find my kids stressful. Sure they are REALLY hard at first, but now my baby is 10 weeks old, sleeping through the night, and all is well again. They add a richness to our life that adds to our happiness.

Course, I also have been with my husband since we were teenagers, and we have been married for (HOLY COW) 19 years now. We had a long time of just the two of us. We know that first and foremost is our relationship. After all, the girls will grow up and leave.
I also think being older helps, as does me being a SAHM and homeschooling. We don't have a lot of the stress that comes with both parents working, or having to rush a kid to school.

But, if you don't want kids, you don't want kids. There is nothing to be sorry about with that. It's better to acknowledge it upfront.

Robbo whowhatwhere ⋅ October 20, 2016

I appreciate your sharing your experience, and I don't take issue with it. For me, the notion of having children feels like playing the lottery. I've seen people hit the jackpot, so to speak, with great kids, but I've seen so many others end up more miserable and stressed out. My friends on Facebook will share Scary Mommy articles, and they all sound like a variation of "My Toddlers/Children/Tweens/Teenagers are Driving Me Crazy?" I'm sure I'm at least slightly biased. My parents were great, honest, hardworking people of integrity, but my siblings were wild, and their back-to-back rebellious years nearly broke our mom and dad. When I think about how badly things could turn out compared to an ideal that seems like a too-good-to-be-true Fakebook profile. I just can't bring myself to pull that trigger.

Small Town Girl October 16, 2016

When I was debating joining a dating sit you have to pay for Match was ranked the highest, but once I googled reviews for match I quickly changed my mind. I read nothing but horror stories from reviewers. Those hot women's profiles might be fake. Many men were writing reviews stating that they would get pulled in my beautiful women, they'd go to exchange emails and the profile would be deleted. Many said it was a ploy by the people who run match to suck people in and keep them in. Most of the reviews by the women who had used the sight had said the vast majority of the men on the site were already married. A little fact the men neglected to mention/confess to until the second or third date. I hope it pans out and I hope you will keep us updated on how it goes! I for one am very curious to see how you find the site overall. Comparatively with the negative reviews I saw.

You are also not a bad person for wanting kids. I think there is still such an expectation on that being the appropriate thing to do with ones life. BY no means are children for everyone. I am here to tell you that there are lots of women who don't want kids! Myself, my best friend and two co-workers of mine are child free and plan to be! Now, finding men who dont want or already have kids is also a very hard thing to come by. You are not alone in this. And it goes both ways. Most men want kids too, making it hard for us childless women as well.

Robbo Small Town Girl ⋅ October 16, 2016

That blows my mind. I've long struggled with the feeling that women who don't want children would have more romantic options than their male counterparts. I'm not sure why. I'm not disagreeing with you; everything you said made sense. Maybe it's just a part of the human condition to think other people have things just little bit easier.

Also, Match has a guarantee of finding someone or you get a free membership. Not that such a promise was the reason for my choosing that service ("I need a woman-NOW!"). I'm not even sure what would constitute "finding someone," but I figured Match wouldn't make such a statement if it wasn't at least somewhat competent in its services. Maybe I should try a free service, too, and compare results. I had former housemate who swore that OKCupid was great for finding dates, but the reviews I read of it weren't very flattering. I'm kind of curious about trying a niche service like Geek-to-Geek just to see who's on there. If you don't mind my asking, did you every decide on a particular service?

Small Town Girl Robbo ⋅ October 16, 2016

I too thought I would be a needle in a haystack as a woman who didnt want kids. I always thought I'd have my pick o a slough of men who didnt want kids. Not so. So many guys wants kids. I was really floored by that. I have yet to meet a guy who doesnt want them. :(

In years past I did OKCupid and plenty of fish. I would NOT recommend POF. Although as a man, you might have a totally different experience. As a woman, my experience with that site is all of the men are only looking for sex. Very low quality of men on there. OKCupid was a touch better, but not by much. Most guys had POF and OKC profiles. I have a few ladies whom I read on here who do OKCupid and have an OK time with it. Another does match and had no had much luck getting dates with guys. I am currently not doing a dating site since I had such horrible experiences in the past. I haven't been able to bring myself to join another one. I did Eharmony for a year in the past as well, and didnt get one single date from it. But my best friends brother met his wife off of that site....so IDK. I think it comes down to luck in a way. As to whether or not you will find someone suitable for you on any particular site or not.

Star Maiden October 19, 2016

From what I'm told, most women get a BUNCH of messages a day (if they are attractive), and its not the same for men.

And not wanting kids is fine. There are women that don't want them too. Just need to be up front about it, because most women think they can change your mind.

Robbo Star Maiden ⋅ October 20, 2016

I have a particular question about that. Some women will select "unsure" or "some day" in the "Wants children" option. Generally, is that their honest answer? I could understand if they were in their early to mid twenties, but these women in question are in their early thirties at least. One woman was in her early forties, and her response was "some day." I guess I wonder if they really want children or are just giving those vague answers to appeal to the maximum amount of men.

Star Maiden Robbo ⋅ October 20, 2016

hmm, idk. i would put "some day" or "wants" i guess. not sure i know of anyone that is actually unsure. its typically an easy question to answer.

Marg November 12, 2016

I am also curious to see how you get on with the site. When I was newly single again I tried Match, POF and Badoo. Match and POF produced very similar guys I would say - I'm not sure I'd agree that POF had any lower a quality of men than Match! I had varying success with each - good and bad relationships - even a 'Friends with Benefits' scenario - but overall the experience was very enjoyable - as long as you didn't expect too much and kept your eyes wide open! The online experience does give men a lot of leeway to be unfaithful without being discovered.

I would definitely stick to your guns on the having children issue - it may slow down responses but at least you're being true to yourself.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.